We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pizza”

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
Ranked #1 of 1,257 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

If you don't like deep dish don't go here. But if you do, it's definitely the best pizza around. Good sauce and they are not shady on the toppings. One slice will fill you up. Definitely get your money's worth. Got The chicken artichoke pizza, was really good. Coworkers got meat lovers, was stacked.

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    127
    31
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Always consistent and always worth the long lines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner at Zachary's Pizza in Oakland on July 25, 2014. The wait was long as expected, but worth the wait. The deep dish pizza is as good as it gets. The crusts and cheese are top notch. I can't wait to go visit this area again and will always find a time to get pizza at Zachary's.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neillibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Chicago Style Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We ordered a pizza from Zachary's at the recommendation of our close friends. I'm generally not a big fan of deep dish, but this tastes like a beautiful blend of Chicago and California. The portions aren't massive and you can easily have more than one slice. It's that good!

Helpful?
Thank courtneyjestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good, but not east coast pizza!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Service and staff are excellent. The vibe is okay. The pizza... well, I hear it's great for California. It's really, really bready, pretty greasy so it satisfied in that way. But definitely not an east coast pizza.

It's a great spot to stop by and pick up a slice when you're hungry while exploring Rockridge

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ct554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Son and daughter in law hadn't tried Zachary's although they have lived here for nearly four years. Although a bit pricey-excellent "Chicago" flavor. I should know since I've spent mywhole life there! Our one suggestion for the thin crust is to cut it in squares like Chicagoans do! Big wedges are a New York thing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinR699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing