We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deep Dish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zachary's Chicago Pizza

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
5801 College Ave, Oakland, CA 94618-1602
510-655-6385
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 1,177 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Deep Dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Best Chicago-style deep-dish pizza in the Bay Area -- and I grew up in Chicago. Try the Mediterranean on a whole wheat crust.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Chicago Pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I am a huge fan of Chicago stuffed pizza (my personal favorite in Chicago is Lou Malnato's). Although I wouldn't say that Zachary's is quite as good as Malnato's, it is a very good imitation! A bit pricey though. Good selection of beers. I went to the location in the Rockridge area of Oakland, convenient to the BART station. I arrived about 4:30 pm on a Sunday and had no wait. However, by the time I left 90 minutes later, there was quite a line.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jwpColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Cal students love it, the yuppies love it, just about everyone loves it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Best pizza in the bay area! When Cal is in, it is packed Friday-Sunday. Most Fri and Saturdays they don't even answer the phone for take out order after about 4:30pm!.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Berkeley_DaveS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Always good pizza -- Can't beat Zachary's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everyone in the family loves Zachary's deep dish pizza. It's often crowded but worth the wait. They also sell half-baked pizzas for you to finish at home. The spinach and mushroon deep dish is my favorite!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank desertsage55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco,CA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Crowded and noisy, but oh so good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Zachary's is an East Bay institution, and anyone visiting the area should stop by. The place is hugely popular evenings and weekends so be prepared to wait. The deep dish pizza is their signature dish. It's awesome. Especially the pepperoni. Incredibly filling and flavorful, and you be coming back for more. In fact, I've never tried any of the other pizzas. Well worth the trip. Fortunately, the restaurant is one black away from the Rockridge BART Station on the Pittsburg/Bay Point Line.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank craig_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing