We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must during our annual Bay Area visit”

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
Ranked #1 of 1,276 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A must during our annual Bay Area visit”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

My family has made a nearly yearly trip to spend the Christmas holiday with my sister and her family. We have gotten take-out from Zachary's every year. This year we got the Spinach & Mushroom. The vegetarians in our group insist on getting this wonderful stuffed pizza. I usually have a slice or two also.

This year we got Zachary's Special for our second pizza. It went fast.

It was a Friday night and very busy. When they are busy they never have the pizzas ready quite as quick as they say they will. This year their estimate was only off by about 5 minutes I think.

In the past they did not accept credit cards. I was quite pleased to discover that they have changed that policy since I last visited and now do accept Visa and MC.

Despite the very busy and noisy atmosphere at the counter the staff was friendly and moved fast and efficiently.

This is relatively expensive pizza but the portions are accurate on their menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank schota1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    133
    32
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“if you like deep dish...”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is the place. With the exception of only Little Star Pizza, this is the best deep dish I have ever eaten. A slice will fill you up, salads are huge. So come hungry and order carefully!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shauna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“It is that good”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The deep "stuffed" dish pizza are about 3-5 inches of wonderful cheese with the tomatoes on top! Choose the Spinach & Mushroom, trust me. There are glutten free available too. The place is noisy beyond belief, I think the take out is the way to go, call ahead to order.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Pizza Icon”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This legendary pizza house is really popular, as in almost too poplular unless you can get in there before 5:30 pm. Otherwise it could be a looonnggg wait. This is the original and it's better than their San Ramon location. UC students are the workers and wait staff and it can be really noisy. But the pizza is great with some unusal toppings. It's also not too salty, like many pizzas.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gardyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Better than Sex”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Zachary's is delicious. Zachary's is best known for its Chicago-style "stuffed" pizza, and it's amazing. It's better than most stuffed pizza in Chicago. To be clear, this is not "thick crust" or Sicilian-style (like Pizzeria Uno's), but rather stuffed. It's like a pie, stuffed with the toppings of one's choice, with a delicious crust and a savory tomato sauce that's difficult to top. Zachary's also has thin crust pizza, which is good, but not as amazing as its stuffed pizza.

It's definitely an Oakland tradition. This is coming from a local. I take all people who visit the Bay Area to Zachary's. No one has ever been anything other than blown away.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalsaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing