We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“yummy deep dish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zachary's Chicago Pizza

Zachary's Chicago Pizza
Ranked #1 of 1,234 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“yummy deep dish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

this place rocks- in fact too much so we always get a hlaf baked so we can avoid the crowds and noise.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DrjessB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    115
    28
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“some of the best pizza on the planet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Seriously, this place is a dining experience for the pizza lover! The spinach mushroom pizza is absolutely delicious as is everything on their menu. I have never gotten a pizza from Zachary's that has been anything other than awesome.

Due to the fact that this place is very unique business establishment, they don't deliver and they only accept cash. if you live in a local area, you can get it delivered by a third-party delivery service.

Try this place. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HEMPXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“yum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

the mustard dressing is as good as the pizza. the wait is often long but worth it. we like 3 cheese with spinach

Helpful?
Thank fsuminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Taste of HOme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Zachary's is always crowded for good reasons: mainly, the Chicago-style pizza tastes like the real thing, the staff is always efficient, pleasant and used to handling the constant throngs of people waiting to take out or sit down in the no frills dining room. The wine is plentiful and well-priced, and makes the wait go faster. If you are an Oaklander, you will probably run into someone you know, and if you are a visitor, you will enjoy the wonderful neighborhood experience. They are famous for thick crust pies, but I love the crispy thin crusts, especially the Good Health with a whole wheat crust, spinach and chicken.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Have no idea why people like it”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have so many friends who adore Zachary's pizza. We've had it at least half a dozen times at parties, including a couple of weeks ago by SIL's request (moving out of state; this was her choice of a farewell pizza). We've had thick crust and thin crust. Meat and vegetarian. From three of their EBay locations. And without exception, we simply do not understand the passion for this mediocre local pizza chain.

Pizziaolo makes the best pizza in Oakland. We also love Nizza La Bella/Berkeley's incredible "La Fruits De Mer “Bouiabaissa" pizza - stunning, brilliant creation. Also amazing is Oenotri/Napa. But Zachary's - no, no, no.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zachary's Chicago Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Zachary's Chicago Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing