We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for Fine Dinning in Oakland”
Review of BayWolf - CLOSED

BayWolf
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Rio Vista
Transit: Bus #51 and #59 both stop on Piedmont Avenue.
SF, California
Level Contributor
1,690 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 707 helpful votes
“Good Option for Fine Dinning in Oakland”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Bay Wolf provides a very nice atmosphere for dinning for everything from a romantic dinner to a business lunch or special occasion. The staff is always very professional and helpful and the menu provides many excellent choices. We especially like their soups, salads and pasta dishes.
Outdoor seating is available and reservations are recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seafare74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    28
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellence in Oakland”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We tried Bay Wolf last night for the April in Paris menu. My choices (butter lettuce salad, short rib tortellini & biscotti) were all very good. We sat in the enclosed and heated porch which was quiet, comfortable & spacious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandywiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

BayWolf continues to be one of the premier restaurants in the San Francisco Bay Area. The food is innovative, the service professional, the ambiance perfect for quiet conversation. We've been coming here for special events and celebrations for more than 25 years. In contrast to many other restaurants, the quality here has remained high in every respect.

The menu is varied so that one can order small or large plates. The wine list is ample AND reasonable. And the setting is perfect for a relaxing and sumptuous meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YayoNorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Birthday”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Just the very best. We and a wonderful time with great staff and really very good food. It is a tradition when we want a lovely evening out we go to BayWolf

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilipandJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place worth a (actually several) visit(s)”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I thought I'd reviewed this place before and time to update but obviously not. I've been there several times now and each one was memorable.
The food and service are excellent. The menu is small but then of a very high standard, cooked to order and very nicely done. We shared a small plate of stuffed tortellini which was absolutely delicious. Followed variously by: Duck, chicken and shoulder of lamb with veg. all were excellent and I had the house Sangiovese by the glass which was wonderfully flavourful on its own and complimented the lamb beautifully.
Pud was the biscotti for me served with a glass of Gewürztraminer rather than a vin Santo but non the worse for that!
There was a large party in one side of the restaurant and we sat at suitable sized tables on the other side. Noise was an acceptable polite babble. The staff are friendly and attentive without being obtrusive and the price very reasonable for such a high standard of over-all dining experience. I will certainly go again and again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKTurkeyTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BayWolf also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing