We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fresh, authentic Italian food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dopo

Dopo
Reserve with OpenTable
Dopo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #122 of 1,234 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fresh, authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

This little spot on Piedmont Ave is consistently good and has a great wine list. Parking is a challenge but worth the trouble.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank notloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    24
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Dopo is my favorite restaurant. I have celebrated many special occasions here over the years, and I have also spent many evenings dining here just because. It is that kind of restaurant: Able to straddle being both a local neighborhood spot and a destination for fantastic cuisine. I credit this to the excellent food (the Pizza Dopo is the best pizza I've ever had) and the low-key, friendly atmosphere. What's more, the prices are reasonable and the service is terrific. What's not to love?

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing but simple Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is some of the best Italian food I've had in Oakland. The menu changes regularly, to accomodate for what's fresh and in season. They also make fresh ricotta in-house, which is maybe why it tastes like heaven.

Highly recommend Dopo for a casual (albeit somewhat pricey) meal - sit at the bar to watch all the action.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

I have been eating at this restaurant since it just opened. I remember having a memorable salad while seating outside when they use to have seating on the side of the building, and went around the kitchen to get there. A great place for making an impression with a date, out of town guest, and "foodie" friends. Yes it is in Oakland!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Onepinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible food and the service was worse”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

8 of us ate/did not eat at Dopo. We all shared appetizers and 8 different food items. 2 of the 8 were good, 6 out of 8 were terrible. The service was very lacking. We decided to try Dopo because a local food critic recommended it. In the future we will be very suspect of local food critic's reviews. Do not eat here if you are a tourist extremely disappointing very poor value for your dollar.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dopo also viewed

 

Been to Dopo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing