We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mmhh, Mmhh Good”

Fentons Creamery and Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #2 of 27 Dessert in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 2, 2016

When I happen to be with my grandkids or with friends and we're close to Piedmont I find it's my chance to suggest going to Fentons for lunch. Why? Because for selfish reasons I love their crab sandwich - it's so good! The turkey/cranberry sandwich is my grandson's favorite and the kids just love the ice cream. Fentons is a popular place so I usually try to get there by 11-11:30. Fentons is a great ice cream parlor - family, kids and patrons eyeballing each other's ice cream creations being served.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 300 of 900 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2016

The ice cream is good, but they don't have different types of flavors that you can't get somewhere else. Really crowded, loud, and not enough seating.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CRose9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

In the last six months I have been there twice. Once alone and once with a friend. Both times were disappointing. Their chocolate mint ice cream used to be my favorite. Last time there was so little chocolate that I thought they had served me the wrong ice cream. Tonight the ice cream was soup.

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Linkup617
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

Fentons was "the"hang spot for students of UC Berkeley before, during and after

I attended college there from 1968-1971. My favorites were the black and tan, and

of course the hot fudge sundae. Fentons probably seats over 150 people and is

always packed. They added sandwiches and it does a good lunch business now.

If you ever get to Piedmont, kind of a little section of Oakland, you gotta try this

place if you're hankerin for some ice cream.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016

I can't comment on Fenton's sandwiches and hot dogs, but the locals seem to be enjoying them. On the other hand, Fenton's has the best ice cream sundaes and banana splits in the entire Bay Area, not just the East Bay. There is a reason Fenton's was identified in the animated film, "Up." It's a wonderful blast from the past, reminding me of getting ice cream with my family at Blums and Dickinson's in San Francisco. Pretty good ice cream, but when covered in excellent chocolate fudge or caramel sauce, whip cream, nuts and a cherry, a Fenton's sundae is a work of art. Definitely worth the calories.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank njronneberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fentons Creamery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fentons Creamery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.