We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Splits!”

Fentons Creamery and Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #2 of 27 Dessert in Oakland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We just love this place! From the food to the ice cream to the service. The line can be daunting at times but it's really worth it and very reminiscent of old malt shops. The ice cream portions are huge so make sure you bring a very big appetite.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Charmagne72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 335 of 900 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2016

Fentons is often crowded with groups celebrating children's events...birthdays, graduations etc. there are many better places to have ice cream. Infact, the chemical smell of fake ice cream and sweets at the door is enough to deter me. But, one time I got invited for lunch at Fentons for my 16 year old niece's birthday. I couldn't find anything on the menu I could bear to eat yet I enjoyed watching the girls laugh and eat mountains of weird smelling "ice cream"
Better ice cream can be found a block away but not in decorative mountains.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016

I came here for dessert ordering only two flavors of the hard ice cream. Flavors were very conservative and they stuck to flavors with lots of nuts or lots of chocolate. The seating inside was filled with dining patrons so we sat outdoors. Definitely a must-do for those with kids!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JY_Globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Lunch with 4 generations. Fenton is the go to spot when the family gets together. The lunch items are very good. I had the crab sandwich, very good. The family goes crazy for the ice cream. Yes, this is the ice cream place featured in the movie Up.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016

I went for lunch at Fentons with the family. My granddaughter had fries and a chocolate milkshake which though the childrens' version was huge and very tasty. I had a crab meat sandwich which was good and a plate of onion rings which I really enjoyed. The rest of the family had a selection of sandwitches and salads which they pronounced good. But their ice cream sundae selection is fabulous and well worth going to try. Be brave skip lunch and try them it will bring back memories of childhood and the discovery of ice cream. A must visit if in the area.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank 13out
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fentons Creamery and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fentons Creamery and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.