We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip hotel Breakfast and eat here”
Review of Aunt Mary's Cafe

Aunt Mary's Cafe
Ranked #35 of 1,265 Restaurants in Oakland
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Aunt Mary's Cafe is a 'From Scratch' restaurant that features imaginative interpretations of regional American cuisine with an emphasis on Southern, Texas and Latin styles. We are a destination cafe with a highly regarded Brunch on Saturday and Sunday.
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Skip hotel Breakfast and eat here”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

The menu has everything you could want. The food is so fresh. We had a very diverse group. And everyone loved it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank halsherm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    24
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Caspar, California
Level Contributor
187 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Unassuming, friendly, delicious”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This local treasure is in the Temescal district, in the midst of small shops and Korean eateries -- that's for next time! Friendly service and a devoted neighborhood clientele. Our Oakland family brought us here because of the "outside" (but under a roof) dog-friendly tables. A delicious scramble with interesting choices; fresh ingredients as local and natural as possible. Big servings. Awesome cappuccini. Get there early for breakfast, or be prepared to wait for a table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunhawk95420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great fresh homemade organic bfast”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Dinned her 2wice for bfast. Inexpensive and very good. Great eggs and homemade sausages. Pancakes were light and very tasty. Awesome omelets. Coffee was rich and delicious. Will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johndhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just as seen on triple D.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The owner greeted and served my breakfast. He helped with recommendations and we reminisced about Chicago together. Most of the menu items are unique and very creative. I enjoyed the Red Flannel Hash. I heard of the place watching Diners, Drive-ins and Dives on the Food Network, so I decided to try it out on my next trip to Oakland. Perfectly satisfied!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank bigm00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“3 1/2 really.”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Aunt Mary's does a brisk business, and we had to wait for a table, but there was complimentary coffee while we waited. Nice Touch. Some dishes were great, others so-so. The shrimp and grits were OK. I would have liked to had more sauce, and more spice in this dish. As far as the southern bubble and squeak, I don't think it's a good move to take culinary inspiration from England. This dish was an absolute miss, bland and under seasoned. On the other hand, the house-made sausage was excellent, and the mac and cheese was top notch. We got a slice of buttermilk pie, and it was a bit of a disappointment, too much flour made it a bit gummy. Too Bad. The service was efficient and adequate. I think is some really great food here, you just have to be selective in ordering.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFTexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aunt Mary's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Aunt Mary's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing