We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place is a dump”

Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum
Ranked #11 of 126 things to do in Oakland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Mesquite, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“place is a dump”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The A;s want out...but if you want to watch a game, this is the easy place to go. Make sure to dress warm at night. The place needs work....but I don't got there to eat

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 57BravesLvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    135
    115
    39
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Real baseball crowd!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Final stop of 4-game stadium tour (LA/SF). Had been here in 1975 and 1999, so knew how hideous the park and the setting was. Arrived easily via BART from SF. Lively crowd for a Sunday day game (A’s in 1st place). Great seats inside 3rd base, 25 rows up from the field, $36 apiece (cheap cheap cheap). Crowd fantastic, obviously there to root for the A’s and to watch a baseball game, because there is no other reason on earth to come to this wretched piece of concrete. Scoreboards and sound system were so wonderfully inadequate, that even when the graphics and P.A. sounds told the crowd to make noise, nobody paid any attention. And the crowd did cheer when there was something to cheer about. A’s fell behind, then came back, crowd never lost faith. These were great fans! This was a true baseball experience, unencumbered by the fake noise and marketing of the newer stadiums. It must feel like a morgue when the A’s are bad and nobody comes, but for us it was the high point of our baseball trip (Angels, Dodgers, Giants).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmptyNest_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Better than I had anticipated”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We went to catch an Oakland A's game at O.co and I must admit I had heard negative things about the ballpark. However, what I found was decent viewing sections, the food was pretty good, and the small crowd that was there was really into the game.
Obviously Oakland could use a baseball only ballpark, but it could have been much worse. Friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Wa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A fine place to watch baseball”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed watching a couple of baseball games at this park but it is definitely not the cleanest or prettiest ball park we have ever been to. The employees were all extremely helpful and nice and the BART is very close by and easy to use to get back into San Fran.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjjpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice, but a bit dated”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I recently saw the Oakland A's play at o.co coliseum. The coliseum is a bit dated, but definitely has a nostalgic feel to it. The seats were barely half full, so they don't seem to have many fans. Many concession areas were closed, but the open ones had everything needed at a ball game (popcorn, hot dogs, beer, soda, etc). The fan excitement was great and the hot dogs were the best I have tasted in MLB stadiums, and I've tasted the hot dogs at over a dozen so far!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum also viewed

 

Been to Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing