We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super fresh food and casual ambience”

Boot and Shoe Service
Ranked #98 of 1,265 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
California/Italy
Level Contributor
263 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Super fresh food and casual ambience”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We found our way here for lunch (Plan C), were pleasantly surprised at the food and delighted with the open attic design and Heath tiled pizza oven....the place is aesthetically pleasing to the eye, no question. With a small menu of creative and freshly made pizzas from the wood oven and three or four entrees, it is very casual...your order at a counter and they bring your food to the table. We had a brisket sandwich with some kind of pepper relish that was superb. Locally sourced choices in season means super fresh. The highlight of the lunch was a scrumptious baby gem salad with green goddess dressing. Small place so go on an off hour or be prepared to wait for a table and in line to make your order from a limited menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaBernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good drinks and ambiance”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friends and I visited here late night on a Friday. Definitely hopping. They make great drinks. We sat on their patio which was decorated well with a sail from a ship hanging over head. The waitress was happy to accommodate us and was fun to talk to. We will definitely go back and try the food!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank courtneyjestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, small selection”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We could not make a reservations (they do not accept them), and we ended up waiting ~30 mins.

The food was good (not great), but the selection was really small. You have the choice of 5 pizzas or 3 entree's beyond appetizers. Of the 3 entree's, only 1 was not pasta.

Also, the wine list was small and offered few glass options.

Finally the service was pretty slow. We ordered 2 drinks - one came really late and the other didn't come (although at least they didn't charge us).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cardott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“great food and service worth the wait”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very charming place, in a trendy hipster sort of way. The interior is brick and wood, and rather dark, but there a couple of window tables that are great. It is a very popular place, gets crowded, and doesn’t take reservations. So either come early or understand there will be a wait. The food is excellent. At the server’s suggestion, we had one appetizer (asparagus and prosciutto with almond salsa), one dish from the primi menu (duck) and one pizza (rapini and house-made sausage). This was plenty of food for the two of us, but of course we had dessert too (lemon cake and a tart). There is a full bar and a cocktail list with some inventive creations. The servers are very friendly and very knowledgeable about the food. The clientele is also very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
272 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A very different kind of pizza place”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Boot & Shoe Service is very popular. Our party of five arrived at 5:10 p.m., ten minutes after the restaurant opened for dinner, and we still had to wait to be seated. It was worth the slight inconvenience of waiting. Two things stand out. First, the special cocktails are both interesting and delicious. Second, the handmade artisan pizzas are fantastic. They offer vegetarian options, and easily accommodated a request for a vegan pizza. We left feeling stuffed and happy. I must point out that most of the seating is at "community tables," large platform tables that seat eight or more. But who is looking for privacy at a pizza place?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boot and Shoe Service also viewed

 

Been to Boot and Shoe Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing