We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Elegant Step into the Past”
Review of Grand Lake Theater

Grand Lake Theater
Ranked #16 of 120 things to do in Oakland
Attraction details
Chicago
Level Contributor
164 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An Elegant Step into the Past”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is an amazing place that shouldn't be missed. Opened in 1926, this gem of a theatre has been lovingly restored into a multi-theatre complex. Great lounge seating, beautiful decorations and history all around. The best!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallRedChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, Ca.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful Historical Architecture”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Attend a movie here and the bonus is seeing this magnificent restoration. An art deco masterpiece! Great theatre for first
run movies and filmed Opera performances

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alamedabonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeLeon Springs, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really cool place to watch a movie!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The historic Grand Lake Theater is simply one of the coolest places I've ever been during my vacation at Oakland.
I was there to watch Wreck-It-Ralph and I watched it inside a Egyptian-themed theater. It's way too dark to capture the presence of Egypt and find my seat, but I was able to see the hieroglyphics and King Tut on the top of the screen.
My brother-in-law told me that the theater can be held for big movie premieres, so I was able to catch a glimpse on the biggest movie theater I have ever seen and that's also where they play the movies with big box office hits.
So when you want to watch a movie in the theater, check the local online times, find a parking spot that is close to the theater, buy a ticket, popcorn and a drink and take a picture of the amazing interior design of the theater. It's AWESOME!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RHarrell_5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful art deco movie theater”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Grand Lake Theater is a beautiful art deco decorated movie theater. On Friday and Saturday nights they often have an organ player before evening shows in the main theater.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank OutoftheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
308 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“gorgeous grand dame”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I love watching movies here and I love when they sell popcorn at a special rate or free night... Makes me want to go to the movies every week!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Lake Theater also viewed

 

Been to Grand Lake Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing