We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scary place to stay”
Review of Crown Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crown Lodge Motel
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed 1 night, neighborhood was very bad. We saw 1 patron get robbed when going to the vending machines. The ice machine cost $.25 cents and it was dirty and stinky. We heard arguing and police sirens all night. Once the sun goes downs it's safer to stay inside. Horrible place to stay we will never go there again. We found it on Priceline and we are very disgusted.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank beckyinsac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2010

i stayed here while i was on Business in Bay Area. Rooms were Clean. Looked Niced. and the price was right. hotel is close to FWY 580 and where i have to go. the staff was very friendly and gave us information on resturant in area and even gave us proper direction.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

Located in a very seedy section of Oakland, not close to much of anything and with no amenities of any kind in the vicinity. Want food? Be prepared to order pizza from the one establishment that delivers here (and be leery of the soda machine, which had mislabeled selections when I stayed). Want to sleep? Bring your earplugs, as illicit commerce goes on loudly in the parking lot all night, punctuated by occasional screams and gunshots. Room was a bit rundown but otherwise nice enough. I fell in love there but doubt I'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mister_Right
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nagod, Manager at Crown Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2009

We are sorry to hear you had an unfortunate experience. However, I do wish to clarify some things you noted in your review. There are actually several activities and attractions close by, including the Oakland Zoo, the Mormon Temple and the Oakland Coliseum. Also, San Francisco is across the bay, a mere 20 minutes away, and full of things to do and see. There are several nearby restaurants including Thai Satay, Blossom Chinese Restaurant, and Planet Coffee. Additionally, Romano Pizza does deliver. We have been living here for over 20 years and have had only a handful of problems. The excessive noise and gunshots heard are an exaggeration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

The Crown Lodge Motel is a great place to stay at. With reasonable prices, superb cleanliness, HBO, Internet access to wifi and sweet managers, this place is definitely worth it. They even have bathtub sized jacuzzis in some of their rooms!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank traveler4887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
3.4 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#15 of 49 in Oakland
378 reviews
2.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
2.1 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
2.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
8 mi away
Imperial Inn
Imperial Inn
#22 of 49 in Oakland
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Lodge Motel

Address: 9899 Macarthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94605-4854
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: $95 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Crown Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crown Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing