We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family style corporate dinner”
Review of Haven Oakland - CLOSED

Haven Oakland
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Embarcadero W.
Transit: Free bus at both Webster and Broadway at Embarcadero. Civic Center and Lake Merritt BART stations are just a few blocks walk. Coming from San Francisco? Consider taking the Ferry over since it drops you right at in Jack London.
california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great family style corporate dinner”
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Came here once before with a friend for yummy dinner with out of this world cocktails. Was here last night for a 22 person corporate dinner and was impressed by the service and family style format. All my coworkers enjoyed the variety of dishes: two salads, great chicken, pork and mushroom grits and the candy bar and apple pie desserts! Beautiful Jack London location for business visitors and high quality farm to table food.

Helpful?
Thank adventurefoodie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    31
    7
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sf
Level Contributor
70 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Terribly mediocre”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a restaurant conceived by amateurs and run by amateurs. At best the experience is mediocre with poorly conceived plates. A starter of grilled calamari on squid ink risotto featured decent fresh calamari set atop pitiful "risotto" which consisted of mushy rice floating in a black broth infused with too much wine. Do they know what risotto is supposed to be? Do they know not to overpower the sweetness of the calamari? Main course of a lamb shank was no better. The lamb was slow cooked without prior searing, thus losing all of the flavors a sear before a braise can give. The side dish of root vegetable "gratin" was pitiful. Far from a real gratin it offered several root vegatbles piled on top of each other. An apple quince pie was terrible with its mushy crust and absence of enough apples. But to make it worse the chef added shizo to it ruining whatever apple flavor was there. Service was very mixed with one of the staff hurling dessert menus onto the table with all the charm of a United Airlines flight attendant offended by serving passengers. This is a restaurant to avoid. Oh. One more thing. Prices high and portions small. I cannot conceive how some other reviewers gave this higher ratings.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfoeuroflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Prix Fixe menu for Oakland Restaurant Week”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My first foray into one of two of Daniel Patterson restaurants here in Oakland. The space is well set up with a bank of window looking over the Jack London Square Marina.

Choosing from the Prix Fixe menu, almost the full a al carte menu:My meal consisted of
CELERY ROOT & APPLE SOUP BUTTERED CROUTONS, SAGE
LIGHTLY SMOKED TROUT BEET, CREAMED SPINACH, HORSERADISH
TOASTED QUINOA POMEGRANATE, ALMOND (side)
COCONUT CREAM CAKE OLIVE OIL RUM (dessert)

I was underwhelmed by the meal, it was "nice" enough though will need to revisit to have a better sense of the "destination buzz" it has, though not as hype as his PLUM property.

NOTE: Daniel Patterson owns Plum and Haven in Oakland and the new Alta CA in San Francisco, he is mainly found cooking at Coi in San Francisco.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onepinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good food but erratic service”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I went to Haven with a couple of colleagues, and we really enjoyed the food. I especially liked the fried Brussels Sprouts and the duck liver toast and I don’t particularly like either! However, the service was erratic and inconsistent. We had a total of 6 different servers taking our orders / bringing out the food and beverages - one for water, one for drinks, one for the shared plates, one for silverware, etc. and they weren’t communicating with each other on what we had ordered! As a result, we did as much talking with the restaurant staff as we did amongst ourselves. I assume we visited on a day on which they were training new staff, so will probably overlook this once. And the food was good enough to warrant a second visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MR-EDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Order the Chef's Tasting Menu”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great experience. You pay $55 (I think) and then they start bringing you fantastic dishes. It all depends on what the chef is into and what's fresh, but it's always a great experience and not knowing what's coming next adds to the adventure. It's a great value and a unique experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ray94611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Oakland also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing