We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very kind. and clean place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
houston,tx
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very kind. and clean place”
Reviewed August 7, 2009

had a one last min stay needed a hotel. they came and picked me up at airport. offered to take me drive to get something to eat. room was large and very clean. gernerous customer serivce. area may have hotel hidden but. rest assure I sleep secure and peaceful last night. another big plus great breakast !!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karinarhcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    210
    84
    30
    27
See reviews for
197
149
32
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2008

My husband, daughter and I had spent hours trying to find a vacant hotel room in San Francisco on a Saturday night in August. First, we went to the hotel where we had a reservation outside SF, and it smelled so strongly of cleaning fluids that we could not stay in it. In SF, the one hotel that said it had a room told the truth -- but it was the worst-smelling room we had ever been in, anywhere! (A combination of dust, mold, smelly lockeroom, and stinky bathroom odors.)
Finally, we called motels outside SF, and reached a lovely receptionist at about 12:15 a.m. at the Best Western. She gave wonderful directions, and we arrived fairly quickly. By then, we were not expecting much of anything. However, the room was clean and quiet, the beds comfortable, the time checking in minimal, the internet free on the computers in the lobby, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious. The only thing preventing this from having a higher rating was a smoking "ashtray" just outside the front entryway, which bothered my husband. However, he spoke to the owner, who agreed another place he could move it -- further from the front door -- might be better.
Give this place a chance -- reasonably priced, clean and the management eager to do all it can to make your visit a good one.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elkbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA/NH
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Stayed here between flights from Oakland Airport. Taxi driver had to use a GPS to find the hotel. On arrival the check in was easy and room was clean and very large. Typical hotel decor although I noticed the desk was missing from the room.

There is no restaurant. I arrived and ended up eating a candy bar from vending machine for my 10:30 p.m.dinner. You could order take out pizza. The free breakfast had quite a few choices including a dutch waffle machine, sausage and eggs.

I booked this room for under $100.00 including tax via COSTCO. It would be a good choice for an overnight near the airport or to catch a ball game. I would not go out of my way to stay there, but found it quiet, clean and comfortable. I would return if I were doing another overnight between flights.

  • Liked — close to airport
  • Disliked — no restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank losthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2005

The Best Western at Oakland Airport is hidden down a dark road with no sign, which is no small problem if you arrive late at night. Although the physical plant is quite nice for this price range, there seems to be some serious training issues with the service personnel. We had made our reservation for two rooms using Expedia. We prepaid and had a written confirmation. When we arrived, the desk clerk seemed to find the check in process rather challenging but we were given a room. When our son arrived at 1 a.m. with his written confirmation for his prepaid room, they had no rooms. Rather than tell him that and immediately place him somewhere else, they kept him there for THREE hours while they requested all kinds of information from Expedia. After awhile, the clerk phoned the Hotel Manager who told him to place my son at another hotel. However, he did not know how do that since he didn't know how to direct the Expedia payment somewhere else. To make a long story short, my son finally contacted Expedia himself and was placed in a room 1/2 hour away. He managed two hours sleep before going to his brother's wedding the next day. Since "things happen", our complaint is that the desk clerk lacked training. As soon as my son arrived and the problem became apparent, he should have placed him elsewhere immediately. We will now avoid all Best Westerns.

Helpful?
7 Thank sisu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2004

I stayed here for New Years Eve, and thought the room was very nice.
The motel seemed new. The bed was comfortable. The room was large and had a mini-refrigerator. It is on a side road away from the busy airport traffic, surrounded by industrial-type buildings. It didn't seem to be an unsafe area, and I preferred that it was off the busy road because there was no traffic noise. They have a shuttle service to the airport and the Oakland Collesium. I called for a shuttle in the early morning hours to take me back to the motel with no trouble. The breakfast was real food - they made egg muffin sandwiches that were very good.

Helpful?
17 Thank Ostara864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing