We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We've stayed at many Best Westerns and other hotels, this one is very well maintained and everyone was very pleasant and professional. Very convenient to the airport and pleasantly quiet. The breakfast was excellent and the breakfast staff did an excellent job of keeping all the items filled and the room clean. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    187
    78
    30
    24
See reviews for
178
138
27
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ashburn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

way to many noise in the hotel. Dogs barking outside, not a good location. i don't recommend the hotel to anyone , def not worth the money. called the hotel , was able to only get 15% back , not a lot but can't do much at this point

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Yama Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bestwestern05603, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to apologize that you felt our location was not up to your standard. We are indeed tucked away on Hegenberger Loop, away from the busy Hegenberger road. We have received many compliments from guests who have stayed with us in the past, about the general quietness of our hotel. We are sorry that you may have experienced a disturbance from outside of our hotel during your stay. However our staff was never notified of the situation until after your checkout 2 days later. We would have greatly appreciated it if we were given an opportunity to investigate and rectify the matter. Please feel free to contact me again at any time, and we can discuss this matter further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, TX
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

There was a recent review (“Staff and Management very rude and unprofessional”) that concerned me before booking, so I called the hotel. They explained the situation and since it was rate-related, I decided to stay. I'm glad I did. This is exactly what you would expect for a Best Western. Good staff, clean room, good amenities, decent breakfast (exactly the same both mornings). Everyone was helpful and friendly. The bus ran on schedule and when requested. Be sure to know where to look for the bus at the Bart station. The neighborhood is tucked back into a decaying industrial park, so I'd have the bus driver take you to the Chipotle, Burger King or other numerous restaurants if you go after dark. Otherwise, it is fine. The area is tired (what in Oakland isn't?), but did not appear dangerous at all.

Bart took about 25 minutes to get to the Embarcadaro and I don't think I waited more than 8 minutes on four trips.

I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UofWGrad1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

The shuttle driver was very nice when I was picked up and dropped off at the airport. The front desk woman was friendly and helpful. The room was nice and spacious. Being so close to the airport, I was surprised at how quiet it was. The free breakfast was good with all items being fresh and you had plenty of items to select from!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My family and I have been guests at this hotel for over 10 years. We stayed there this past weekend and it was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The hotel over charged us for a room. The hotel staff Kevin and Lena were rude and unprofessional. The manager Jay Patel was also rude and unprofessional and refused to reimburse us the $56.00 they over charged us. Because of the lack of customer service, they lost future business with loyal consumers. Do not stay at this hotel, staff do not care about customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Rosario/david R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

We take your complaint about our customer service and about the overcharging issue seriously. I trust that the charge has now been resolved to your satisfaction, and we are retraining all front desk personnel and making staffing changes to make sure customer service is always perfect. This issue is a priority for us. We thank you for you repeat business and hope you will give us another chance at your business in the future.

Thanks, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Nice friendly service, shuttle is a perk, breakfast is above average with hot and cold options and also the beds were comfortable.Rooms were clean and it's good when visiting for a game. The location isn't bad either, close to Walmart and Starbucks, In and Out and Wing Stop.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebear655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Once in the hotel it was fine, the room was typical for that type of hotel. It was nice they had a hot breakfast included everyday, dinner Tuesday & Wednesday and even cookies on Thursday. It wasn't the greatest food but it did the job. The only real issues were the location- not very desirable to say the least and the shuttle was not as reliable as I had hoped. It was there but just took a long time to wait for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing