We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No customer service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
slc
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“No customer service.”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I have never had such a horrible experience in my life. We arrived to get our room only to be told that the reservation was for the night before. I said that was impossible and asked if they had rooms. They said yes but refused to waive the no show fee for the night before. We asked to speak to the manager. Denied. Asked to speak to the owner, Denied. Then he called Jared at Best Western. If it was possible, he was even worse than the man at the desk. Do your self a favor. Stay at the Marriott or the Hilton.

PS. There was no parking when we arrived. Cars were parked everywhere. It is a horrible part of town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megaverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwplusoaklandca, Webmaster at Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

I take personal responsibility for any issues you encountered during your unpleasant stay with us. Our goal is to offer the best service, great amenities and clean, comfortable rooms. We apparently failed you, and I apologize. We have replace and retrained much of the staff since your stay and made other positive changes. You’ll find a much different experience at our property now -- plus a great price you simply can’t find anywhere else. I hope you’ll try as again next time you’re in town.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    210
    84
    30
    27
See reviews for
197
149
32
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minden, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had an overnight layover in Oakland. The room was spacious and clean. The friendly shuttle driver took us to and from the BART station so we could spend some time in SF. The night we we there they had a catered complimentary Chinese Buffett which was a nice treat since the hotel is located in an industrial area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is in bad area, there is nothing to do and the population is not so good. There is a Walmart near by with couple of fast food restaurants and that's all. It takes nearly half an hour driving to get to San Francisco.

There is a pool and a jackuzzi in the hotel, but they weren't working when I arrived the hotel, the pool fixed the next day, but jackuzzi took 3 days to fix and it was working with cold water.

The fitness room is quite small with old equipment, some of them event not working.

The room was big with a king size bed, but all the other furnitures was old. The TV was an old one with bad channel choises, so there is nothing to see on the TV (even can't connect my laptop to it). The air vantilator in the bathroom was noisy and when I complained about it, I have been told that it is same in every room and there is no option to turn it off (generally it should work once you turn on the switch in the bathroom, but here this is not the case). There was a coffee maker in the room with microwave, but there wasn't a kettle, so I needed to use the microwave to heat the water (there was a strong cheese smell in microwave).

The breakfast was complimentary, there were 3 types cereals, 2 type bread, one type cheese, one type jam, butter, waffle machine, scrambled eggs and sausages, bananas and apples, coffee and tea. So if you like to have a proper breakfast, you need to have it out side.

The hotel is ok if you consider the price, but I am sure there are other hotels better than this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which you can turn off the air ventilation in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herosemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights in late October and was very happy to have chosen this hotel. Inexpensive rate yet excellent service. As others have said - the shuttle is huge in making this such a good place to stay. Took it from airport/to BART multiple times/to Raider game/car rental counter and was not disappointed. While there is no restaurant/bar on site, the driver was nice enough to take us to the Marriott (a ride for which he declined a tip) and pick us up again later (I insisted this time).

Rooms were quite roomy and comfortable. Pool/hot tub small but serviceable. Breakfast wasn't fancy but more than just toast and coffee.

As for the neighborhood - I guess it's all what you're used to. While heading in one direction looked dicey and I wouldn't suggest walking it alone at 2am - had no problem walking to main drag for coffee in the morning. There's also a small shopping mall less than a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCommishNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Airport. It was one of my better stays at a hotel in my many years of traveling. The staff is great. They were very helpful from the very beginning starting with my check-in. I believe the young mans name was Timmy. He was very informed on the dining in the area. The complimentary shuttle service was extremely convenient. They took us everywhere we needed to go for our entire stay, from dining, to the Raiders game, and finally back to the airport.

The rooms were very clean, and with free WIFI. The beds were really comfortable, even more so then the one I have in my bedroom. I also enjoyed the continental breakfast and the Taco Tuesday and the Chinese food they served on Wednesday free of charge. It was great food, and and we had an excellent time meeting other guests in the hotel along with some of the staff.

The fitness room and the indoor pool/Jacuzzi was a definite plus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the Oakland area for a day or even a week or more. 5 Stars from me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
4.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
882 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#13 of 49 in Oakland
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
0.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing