We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had an overnight layover in Oakland. The room was spacious and clean. The friendly shuttle driver took us to and from the BART station so we could spend some time in SF. The night we we there they had a catered complimentary Chinese Buffett which was a nice treat since the hotel is located in an industrial area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    187
    78
    30
    24
See reviews for
178
138
27
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

The hotel is in bad area, there is nothing to do and the population is not so good. There is a Walmart near by with couple of fast food restaurants and that's all. It takes nearly half an hour driving to get to San Francisco.

There is a pool and a jackuzzi in the hotel, but they weren't working when I arrived the hotel, the pool fixed the next day, but jackuzzi took 3 days to fix and it was working with cold water.

The fitness room is quite small with old equipment, some of them event not working.

The room was big with a king size bed, but all the other furnitures was old. The TV was an old one with bad channel choises, so there is nothing to see on the TV (even can't connect my laptop to it). The air vantilator in the bathroom was noisy and when I complained about it, I have been told that it is same in every room and there is no option to turn it off (generally it should work once you turn on the switch in the bathroom, but here this is not the case). There was a coffee maker in the room with microwave, but there wasn't a kettle, so I needed to use the microwave to heat the water (there was a strong cheese smell in microwave).

The breakfast was complimentary, there were 3 types cereals, 2 type bread, one type cheese, one type jam, butter, waffle machine, scrambled eggs and sausages, bananas and apples, coffee and tea. So if you like to have a proper breakfast, you need to have it out side.

The hotel is ok if you consider the price, but I am sure there are other hotels better than this one.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which you can turn off the air ventilation in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herosemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed for two nights in late October and was very happy to have chosen this hotel. Inexpensive rate yet excellent service. As others have said - the shuttle is huge in making this such a good place to stay. Took it from airport/to BART multiple times/to Raider game/car rental counter and was not disappointed. While there is no restaurant/bar on site, the driver was nice enough to take us to the Marriott (a ride for which he declined a tip) and pick us up again later (I insisted this time).

Rooms were quite roomy and comfortable. Pool/hot tub small but serviceable. Breakfast wasn't fancy but more than just toast and coffee.

As for the neighborhood - I guess it's all what you're used to. While heading in one direction looked dicey and I wouldn't suggest walking it alone at 2am - had no problem walking to main drag for coffee in the morning. There's also a small shopping mall less than a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCommishNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Airport. It was one of my better stays at a hotel in my many years of traveling. The staff is great. They were very helpful from the very beginning starting with my check-in. I believe the young mans name was Timmy. He was very informed on the dining in the area. The complimentary shuttle service was extremely convenient. They took us everywhere we needed to go for our entire stay, from dining, to the Raiders game, and finally back to the airport.

The rooms were very clean, and with free WIFI. The beds were really comfortable, even more so then the one I have in my bedroom. I also enjoyed the continental breakfast and the Taco Tuesday and the Chinese food they served on Wednesday free of charge. It was great food, and and we had an excellent time meeting other guests in the hotel along with some of the staff.

The fitness room and the indoor pool/Jacuzzi was a definite plus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is staying in the Oakland area for a day or even a week or more. 5 Stars from me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KP1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Best Western: This hotel is much better than it has to be for the price. Screamin’ deal for sure. A bit hard to find as it’s tucked around behind the Courtyard by Marriott, but very close to the airport and to the Oracle Complex. They have a reliable shuttle to and from the airport and Oracle Arena that also runs within a three mile radius. Very, very nice rooms, great bed, lots of room, free internet and super good breakfast, not just stale bread and powdered coffee. Friendly knowledgeable help. If you’re going to Oakland for a sporting event, concert (we went to see Bruce Springsteen) or need to be close the airport, this is the deal. If you’re going to the Oracle complex only, not only do you not need a car, you’re better off without it. We actually returned our rental car early and got the shuttle back to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cobra427sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Oakland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing