We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice motel ...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Bramley, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice motel ...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This motel had very helpful staff. It's the stopping-over place of choice, I think, if you're arriving/departing by plane, and having to transfer to Amtrak, or vice-versa, or if you need to pick up a car at the airport, and have an overnight delay. The taxi fare from the Jack London Square stop at Oakland out to the airport is only $20 or so, and is worth it, especially at night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    176
    77
    29
    23
See reviews for
169
131
27
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holly
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights visiting Oakland and San Francisco to watch some ball games. First off let me stay that a major plus for this hotel is the shuttle service. I elected not to have a rental vehicle at all and that was good because the parking was kind of tight. Most nights there were no spots and people were parking all over the place. The shuttle ran regular routes to both the airport and the BART terminal. Plus additional trips out as people needed them. I didn't have any issues waiting except for 1 night after the A's game but that was only because there were too many people for 1 trip. No, problem. The driver was back in a few minutes and picked up another run. All of the drivers were very polite. The desk staff was terrific with the exception of the night clerk who talked at a mid scream level for the most routine conversations. The rooms were quite clean and the maid service was very prompt and efficient. The breakfast was great. Lots of different options bewteen hot and cold foods. The location was n't the greatest and I had been warned by other posters not to walk at night time, but there wasn't any problem in the daytime and there was a nice shopping/eating area within a few blocks. The only other issue I had was with the internet service which was quite tortoisemal (yes, I made up the word). Very sketchy. Overall, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevieyz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple times. The staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is a little hidden in Hegenberger Loop, but that helps it stay quiet. The rooms are large and the beds are extremely comfortable. Breakfast is boring, the same scrambled egg stuff and sausage links every day, but the rooms have a fridge and microwave so you can make tour own if the variety is an issue.

The shuttle will take you, not just to the airport, but to BART and other nearby (within 3 miles) places!

I'm looking forward to staying here each time I visit OAK.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djoneseee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here prior to very early morning flight from OAK. Check-in very quick with prior reservation. Area a little questionable but security seems adequate. Property clean but well used.
Had an acceptable night's sleep in spite of someone pounding loudly on our door in the middle of the night. Shuttle available to the airport and if not servicing the airport will take guests to nearby restaurants.COntinental breakfast advertised, but we had to leave before it was served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I could not believe the deal through SW Airlines that we got on this hotel! We were promptly picked-up at the airport, brought to the hotel by a friendly driver, checked in by a friendly front desk person then promptly taken to the Oakland A's game we came to see. Was picked up at the Colisseum after the game brought back to the hotel and had a free chinese meal that was brought in. The next day we dropped off at BART to head to San Francisco. The room was a nice suite. The only down side was the area but never felt afraid because we were escorted were we needed to go. We were on an eight day trip and this is the BEST VALUE we have ever had on a trip!

Room Tip: Lower level suite facing the street-quiet with no noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PattiA155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bluff, California, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I used this hotel for a second time to do park and fly. Very conveniently located to the airport in Oakland. Shuttle leaves every half an hour. Staff was very nice and helpful. Room was large with a sitting area, frig, coffee pot. Very clean. Comfy bed. My only regret was we had to leave very early in the morning. We did not get to have the breakfast since we had to leave too early. Breakfast area was very nice and large though. Upon arriving back in Oakland, the shuttle comes every half an hour to pick up and drop off. No problem getting back at all. Worked out great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Kevin and Staff was very accomodating. From shuttle to check-in to check-out and shuttle again. Laundry machines were a welcome sight-BRING QUARTERS. They also stored my luggage for 3 days while I took a flight out to Vegas and back. The neighborhood is not the best but the shuttle is more than happy to take you anywhere you want within a 2-mile radius. The BART terminal, Walmart, In & Out Burger, Oakland Stadium, and the Oakland Airport are within boundries. Hands down as one of the best hotels if you are looking for something close to the airport or stadium. It is a no frill, simple hotel--exactly what we needed for a layover. Ww checked out to early to take advantage of the free breakfast in the quaint lobby. The pool was inviting but the kids were to exausted from our Italy flight.

Room Tip: Stay near the laundry room if you are doing a lot of washing. We had 3 suit cases of dirty clothes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kebohana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 763 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Address: 170 Hegenberger Loop, Oakland, CA 94621-1326
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Airport Hotel Oakland
Best Western Plus Airport Inn And Suites
Oakland Best Western
Best Western Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing