We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly neighborhood place”

Grand Avenue Thai Cuisine
Ranked #390 of 1,265 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Pinole, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“friendly neighborhood place”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Staff are friendly and food is always good. The service can be a little slow when they are busy but always worth the wait.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good spices and the best pumpkin curry ever!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went there for my birthday with my kids and had the best pumpkin tofu curry! It was spicy and flavorful and the vegetables were fresh and cooked just right. It is under new management and I had to try it, as I know the new owners and I was quite impressed. I have eaten a lot of Thai food since moving to California and I will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
268 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“It was good”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

The prices are what you would expect in any city for Thai food. The red curry was thick and not too much coconut milk. Egg rolls were nice, and the soup was amazing. The cook wasn't paying attention to some other items: stuffed wings burnt on one side; and garlic rice had some over cooked grains. My daughter hit her head on the hard, wooden bench when leaning back. It made things awkward until the appetizers were served.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isletripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Thai Food and Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have eaten at many Thai restaurants and I like this one better than all the others outside of Thailand (which I have never been to). The food is always good, the service is excellent and the decor and music very pleasant. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosep43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We winter in Oakland and live around the corner. We eat there frequently and have ALWAYS been very pleased with the food. I absolutely love their pumpkin curry.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taxesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Avenue Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Grand Avenue Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing