We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Washington Inn
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2007

I've stayed at The Washington Inn four times since March on business trips & I highly recommend it. The staff are all very friendly and quite helpful. The rooms, while small, are all recently renovated and quite clean. Their queen rooms are actually full-size beds, so if you have more than one person you should definitely get a king room. There are several fantastic restaurants within a block of the hotel, including Le Cheval (Vietnamese) & B Restaurant & Grill, as well as Indian, Thai & Chinese.

  • Liked — Clean, nice room
  • Disliked — No pool or gym
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank zapladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    74
    56
    34
    33
See reviews for
33
55
34
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

I travel to Oakland about once a month on business, and stay here most of the time.

First a word of warning: Downtown Oakland is not a terribly exciting place. It often feels like a ghost town at night, and can feel a little unsafe, but that's downtown Oakland for you. The hotel is right accross the street from the Marriott/Civic Center ($2-300 per night) and is in one of the nicer neighborhoods Downtown, but the whole downtown area needs help. Also, street noise can be a problem, but I've stayed at the Marriott and other places nearby, and it's the same there too.

The hotel is an old renovated building. Lots of character, but not the modern look and feel of a major hotel chain. If you want that, try the Marriott across the street or the Courtyard 3 blocks away. Both are nice and modern, but will run you twice as much.

For $90-110 per night you get a nice room, a little on the small side, a comfortable bed, a decent sized bathroom. Yes, the sinks are on the outside of the bathroom. It's always been clean for me. In a lot of rooms you step down from the door/bathroom area to the main part of the room. It's a little odd, but it's one of those things that gives the place some character. Reminds me of classic hotels in Europe- I like it, but if it's not your cup of tea, try another place.

I have always found it clean, the staff has always been prompt, very friendly, and helpful. I've never eaten at the restaurant, so I can't comment, but there are plenty of nice places within a 3 block radius.

I like it because it's a little funky, a great price, never had a problem with the room or the staff. I usually leave early in the morning, come back after dinner and go right to sleep. I've never been unhappy with my stay, perhaps because my needs are pretty basic.

What it isn't: It's not a modern, full service place. The building is historic, so the rooms are smaller than newer ones. If you need/want round the clock attention, a concierge, bell-hop, gift shop etc., you should try another place and expect to pay more.

If you need/want clean, comfortable, friendly staff, a place with character, give it a try.

  • Liked — Convenient location, great value
  • Disliked — It's in downtown Oakland
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jpbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2006

We just returned from a stay in this wonderfull downtown oakland hotel. We were there for 3 night and enjoyed the nice and clean hotel. I was a little worry about the hotel because of the past reviews, but it seems since the last review in june 2006 things have change alot. The hotel is clean and very nice looking. If you like that 1930 look this the place for you.

The rooms are a little small but very nice looking, the staff is great and they try to go out of their way to make your stay a good one. They do have a resturant with great staff. we ate at the Rest. two night and had a great experience. The server was great and took very good care of us. The food is excellent!!! My wife had the butterfly prawns very very good. I had the NY steak also very good with a wonderfull Cab. sauce.

All in all this Hotel is wroth the stay and we will be back here everytime we travel to Northern California.

  • Liked — staff and look of the hotel
  • Disliked — the area
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jackson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2006

I had a similar experience in trying to make the Washington Inn work for my business. After more than 3 phone calls to the hotel I still did not receive a call from the manager.

and when I was calling a staff member, there was no answer at the hotel for more than 30 minutes! I started thinking there was a fire or something.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2006

badly managed
frequently understaffed
don't return phone calls
unprofessional
small rooms
didn't answer the phone for over a half hour!
bad policies for business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2006

I came to Oakland on a business trip with my daughter and husband in tow. Rooms are fairly small and basic but adequete. Our first problem arose when I needed to bath my 11 month old daughter. Not a single bathtub in the entire hotel. But the big problem was when I went down to the computer to work on a presentation.

The internet was down and the staff could venture no predication about when and if it would be working in the next week. For a business traveler this was just unacceptable -- esp. since the Washington Inn advertises computer/internet connection. Worse was their attitude about the situation. They were just clearly not motivated to fix the bloody thing anytime soon -- or suggest viable options in the neighborhood.

We packed up for the Marriott the next day. More expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2005

I spent two nights at the Washington Inn. As I see it, here is the Good and the Bad:

Good:
$98.00 group rate
Next door to Gulf Coast Brewery. Local hang out with great beer.
Twist Restaurant in lobby had good Steak and Julian mixes a great drink
Clean lobby, room small but OK.
Kitchen in basement was clean and organized
Has Room service
Good shower pressure and temp

Bad:
Noise from trucks at "Smart and Final's" 12 to 6am loading zone below
Short on staff. No bell service, 1 person running bar and restaurant.
Scary neighborhood at night, isolated.
Sink is in middle of sleeping room and not enough shelf space
Old, Slow elevator


Conclusion:
If you like beer and need an inexpensive room in downtown Oakland, Go For It.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Property: The Washington Inn
Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607-4012
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing