We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good and the Bad”
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Washington Inn
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
A TripAdvisor Member
“The Good and the Bad”
Reviewed September 9, 2005

I spent two nights at the Washington Inn. As I see it, here is the Good and the Bad:

Good:
$98.00 group rate
Next door to Gulf Coast Brewery. Local hang out with great beer.
Twist Restaurant in lobby had good Steak and Julian mixes a great drink
Clean lobby, room small but OK.
Kitchen in basement was clean and organized
Has Room service
Good shower pressure and temp

Bad:
Noise from trucks at "Smart and Final's" 12 to 6am loading zone below
Short on staff. No bell service, 1 person running bar and restaurant.
Scary neighborhood at night, isolated.
Sink is in middle of sleeping room and not enough shelf space
Old, Slow elevator


Conclusion:
If you like beer and need an inexpensive room in downtown Oakland, Go For It.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    76
    60
    34
    33
See reviews for
33
58
35
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 30, 2005

This hotel is interesting in appearance and clean. The parking is the pits; you can either pay $15 to park in the garage or use the meters across the street, which have a two-hour liimit. The hotel is not in the best part of town either.

Our room was small but clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The air conditioner blew out lovely lukewarm air, and we reported this to the desk clerk. He told us this was an "ongoing problem" that had been reported to the owner. Our room was very stuffy and hot, and we slept little through the night because of this.

The buffet breakfast was not exactly as advertised, but we managed to get full.

The staff was nice enough, and the lobby area was neat and clean.

Overall, I would most definitely recommend finding other accommodations in the downtown Oakland area. If you are attending an event at the convention center, this is convenient, but that's about it.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2005

The rooms were of a fair size but did not appear to have been cleaned properly between guests.

My wife found a tube of "personal lubrication" in our bed that must have been from the previous guest. Truly disgusting !!!!

Management took a 'do not care' attitude, so I would not recommend this hotel at all.

Helpful?
7 Thank AdrianLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2005

Expected a little more after looking at the pics, had several problems, and really not impressed. They made me move rooms several times, AFTER unpacking, TV didn't work, wireless access only works in SOME rooms, and even then doesn't work well, and the breakfast is very minimal and not very good. They don't say it but there are no tubs, just showers, and water gets everywhere. If you find a sweet deal and want to be close to the city, then great, but you want comfort this is not the place.

Helpful?
6 Thank Shannonsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2004

I can't say what it would have been like to stay in the hotel, because their questionable conduct and business practices rendered a stay there impossible. I completely booked and paid for four nights for my mother at the Washington Inn over Christmas. Four days before the stay was to start, I received a call from the hotel informing me that they are to be closed to all guests on December 25, and that my mother should make other arrangements for that day. They refused to refund my money, or to pay to accommodate her for the (already paid for) night that they were now closed for business.

I would strongly encourage anyone considering a stay at the Washington Inn to book a stay at a more dependable and responsible establishment.

Stayed January 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank jdlOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 27, 2004

My fiance and I just spent two nights here. The website was amazing and we had high expectations for the hotel. However it was just okay. The room was small, the hallways are a bit dingy and fairly chilly. Pillows were pretty lumpy and the comforter did not even have a cover. The weekend breakfast is pretty weak and the one during the week is your standard buffet but fully adequate. I may stay here again if up for business, it is a nice alternative to a chain hotel but not for a special occasion.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 24, 2004

We live nearby & came to the Washington Inn for a romantic getaway apart from our kids. The suite w/ king bed was perfect for us. There was no weekend room service, & the hotel restaurant is closed on the weekend, which was disappointing. But the weekend rate is a better deal than the weekday rate, because mostly business travelers use the hotel. We also found that the hotel staff was friendly, helpful, and accomodating--the desk clerk had a local restaurant fax a menu. There were other guests at the hotel, but not many. The lobby seemed deserted most of the time. The room was attractive & comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Property: The Washington Inn
Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607-4012
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing