We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Washington Inn
Nearby Hotels
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$129
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $241/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$226
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites(Oakland)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$291
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $248/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$252
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveler rating
31
78
63
38
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
78
63
38
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcouple blockswi fibartbroadway
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 243 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The room was simple but ok. Bathroom looked clean. Free breakfast every morning in the lobby. The BART station is only a five minutes walk (BART to San Francisco takes about 20 minutes). There is a supermarket next to the hotel. And on Broadway there are free shuttle busses (can take you to Jack London Square Amtrak station).

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Newly refurbished historic hotel. One block from the BART. Met our needs perfectly. Friendly staff. Free breakfast Ok but we like to eat out. Had a suite at a great rate. A bargain in the Bay Area. Across from Convention Center so convenient if you have a meeting there.

Room Tip: We were on 2 nd floor and heard some noise from restaurant/ bar but not bad. Would still stay on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kendra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hesitated on booking after reading inconsistent reviews, but our accommodations and experience were terrific. We stayed during the week, and it was nice and quiet. Got the 2 room king suite on the 4th floor for $141/night, that's including tax! Additional $15/day for parking at the convention center. Great location - 2 blocks to BART. Downside - TV's are ancient, furniture mismatched, but I'd far prefer an affordable gem like this than twice the price at the Marriott across the street. I hope they keep it just like it is - unique and great price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The Washington Inn is located in Old Town Oakland. It is right off the BART line on 12th St. Excellent dining options, including several small ethnic restaurants, are close by on Clay Street. The free continental breakfast provided was also nice. My room was extremely clean. It had a good view of Old Town architecture. The service was good and everyone there was friendly. I enjoyed the experience!

Room Tip: Room 409 was airy and had a great view of old town.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doriba12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Staying in Oakland on business and I selected this hotel because from the website and the description on Hotels.com, this looked like a relatively nice place. There is a 'vintage' feel to this hotel but I would NOT call it charming or a "luxury boutique hotel" as it is self described. I actually would NOT use the words luxury or boutique. The room is generally clean but the threadbare sheets and blankets left much to be desired. For example, my "queen bed", which was actually a full bed, had what I assumed was a down comforter, except the comforter had been so overused that it looked like just a sheet. The television looks like the first model ever created, which really is not such a big deal, but the reception was awful and I could not get a clear picture. The staff I encountered was nice enough and accommodating but this place was definitely NOT worth the $138 I am paying a night. Needless to say if you are looking for something that is a couple of steps above a motel, stay here, but if you are hoping to come back and relax in comfort after long travel and meetings, DO NOT stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FawziahQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews