We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Economical but nice spot in old, charming Oakland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Washington Inn
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Sonora, California
Level Contributor
303 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Economical but nice spot in old, charming Oakland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

First, why stay here? Location and economy without sacrificing too much quality. We were here to see Bryan Ferry perform at the Fox Theatre (wow! see my review) and eat at Duende (wow! see my review) with some friends.

This hotel feels like a landmark. Old style with lots of wood, high ceiling, an old mahogany bar and a stained-glass skylight make you feel you've stepped back 75 years. Similar feelings as you head up the elevator (some wrought iron) and into your room (clanky air conditioner though made me feel like it hadn't been repaired for years).

This is still a restoration in progress it feels. Bar seems a little underwhelming and front desk seems at odds serivce-wise and decor-wise with rest of hotel.

It sits across from the Oakland convention center where if you have a car you will park it there for $15 (via hotel). Do not park on street, too many signs of broken windows.

The night we stayed was a Monday - no convention in town and no late nite music from nearby pub, no late night scene at the hotel bar. As a result we had a quiet, easy stay. My mind wondered what it might be like on a weekend or with a bunch of conventioneers in town -- might have gotten a little too crazy given its proximity to convention center, late nite spots, etc. May also be why we got a $100/night room too.

But if you're in town for a mid-week concert at the Fox or want to try some of Oaklands hot restaurants, this is a good choice to me.

Room Tip: Probably a room facing 10th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    52
    33
    31
See reviews for
31
50
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My typing may seem shaky due to the rock band playing at the pub across the parking lot. So loud in fact, I can barely hear my television (no exaggeration). It is midnight and they just stopped. Room is very average, hotel staff friendly enough but elevator and the rest is pretty sketchy. The Marriott is across the street for $30. per night more. We are moving tomorrow despite pre-paying for this room

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our 7-day stay by my wife and I and another couple were wonderful. Desk personnel were over the top courteous and pleasant, the rooms were clean and well managed, the food served during breakfast were more than expected and tasty. We look forward to visiting again and this time not necessarily for business.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We book a room at The Washington for the weekend. This hotel has lots of charm. Rooms are clean and the staff is excellent. They made feel very welcome. The hotel is in a great location. I will stay here when am in Oakland.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carson54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Level Contributor
582 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

There are only a few places to stay in the center of Oakland and we decided to try the Washington Inn which is across the street from the Oakland Convention Center. It is in the downtown district is a hotel from the early 1900's. It is four stories and has the charm of the bygone era. You walk into the lobby and there is a sitting area as well as an inviting bar. If you walk past the bar which did not have a bartender or patron, you came to reception where the greeting and checking was smooth and efficient. While you are signing in, you can look up to your right and see a colorful stained glass ceiling panel as well.

After being given the key, you step in to the last century and take a small elevator up to your floor. The elevator is a wrought iron cage that draws you steadily up to your flow with the wind coming through the iron work. The rooms are old fashioned in some ways as they have single pane windows and one window looks out to a central corridor. There is a single light on one side of the bed, so only one person can comfortably read. The TV is of the CRT variety with a VCR on top. Perfectly adequate but a touch dated. The bathroom is clean and the soaps, etc are of high quality. The bed itself was relatively comfortable. A touch of the present was that the light switches are motion activated.

The continental breakfast was served on the bar in the lobby and had cereal, yoghurt, bagels, toast ...

Parking is on the street until 8 Am after which it is $2/hr or you can pay $15/day.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJTravellingfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I decided to stay at The Washington Inn because it looked cute, with good linens and it was an independent hotel for a decent price. The website also made it look nice. This was probably my worst experience staying in a hotel! Inside the room were motion sensor lights with no off switch. Every time I moved when I was sleeping, all the lights in the room came on. It was like torture, literally! I called again and again down to the reception and no one ever answered. I just sat in bed and cried. What was even more ridiculous is that there was a motion sensor light in the bathroom that had an on/off switch, but the one in the main room didn't! When I checked out in the morning and asked to talk to a manager, the cold lady at reception said he was in a meeting. I left a note describing what happened and requested my money back. I left my name and phone number and I never got a call back. Absolutely despicable

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ameya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The hotel is a 101 year old building, it's clean, well maintained and the staff was nice to talk with. I had a conference at the Marriott so I was gone most of the time however when in the room, I was able to open my window and listen to the city.

The room was clean and updated. Had a refrigerator in the room, free wifi and there was continental breakfast however I didn't eat there and there is also a happy hour I didn't partake in that either. There is a Smart & Final right next door, the Bart is only a couple blocks away. A great Cambodian Restaurant on Broadway less than 2 blocks away as well.

I was happy with it. It was low key, great price and everything worked fine, no issues. Many others from the conference stayed there too and were just as happy too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liquidterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
1.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#10 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Property: The Washington Inn
Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607-4012
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing