We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Washington Inn
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Elk Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My room was comfortable, the bed was comfortable, and of the four pillows on the bed, one was exactly right for me, which I almost never find in a hotel, even when I ask for a thin pillow. I opened my window for fresh air and the street below was quiet after 10:30 p.m.

The front desk staff and waitresses were all very friendly. The two evenings I was there the dining room and bar were busy, some of the bar patrons watching an NBA finals game, and all evening there was a guy at the piano playing old tunes. It was a very nice and very enjoyable atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    70
    51
    33
    31
See reviews for
31
50
33
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baytown, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Old hotel with nice little rooms. Great location across from the convention center and within walking distance of restaurants and clubs. There is a bar in the middle of the lobby. Restaurant and room service were not available on the weekend. The rooms were clean and had refrigerators, safes, and the usual amenities. The continental breakfast was only available until 9AM (advertised 9:30 in the information book in the rooms) No fruit, just cereals and bread products.

Helpful?
2 Thank eyetravel22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was comfy , cozy, and cheap. Highly reccommended!!!!!!!!! The breakfast is sparse but it is near a supermarket and great bars like the Trappist restaurant. Trappist has good Belgian food and beer!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigtropman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For the price, this hotel is pretty bad. Its main value is probably as a spillover for the Convention Centre visitors.
I stayed here for 2 nights using it mainly as a resting place for the night.
The rooms are clean, but small. The view out is not what you would pay for. The linen is not too clean, and the room was not cleaned properly on the second day.
The sink is outside in the main room outside the bathroom - an efficient use of space, but not enough space to set up 2 suitcases.
The shower stall is roomy.
The tiny elevator is fun to ride, you can look up the shaft through openings in its ceiling.
Breakfast is continental - minimal and cold.
The person manning the front desk seemed quite jittery.
Location of hotel is good and safe.
There are better options around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank odobenus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

Eugene, OR
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's a quain hotel, the room was small (not enough vanity space) but clean and pleasant. The problem was the party rented out on Saturday night. We were on the fourth (highest) floor and the noise went on for hours, both inside and out. Even worse was the attitude of the desk clerk in the morning. Apparently, our displeasure was quite amusing. I will never stay there again and recommend that you avoid it if you actually want to get what you pay for: sleep and respectful staff.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't have parties booked at night in the lobby, although I have a feeling that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkjn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPont, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My sister and I chose this hotel based on pictures and descriptions on their website. Nothing ever looks quite as good in real life. The hotel is old and somewhat charming. The rooms are very small. The hide-a-bed couches are horrible. On the weekend the pub below and next door emits noise and music that makes it impossible to sleep, think or talk until it closes - maybe at 2 a.m. The shower in our room drained very slowly. By the end of a shower were several inches of standing water in the enclosure and it took about 30 minutes to drain. The hotel discounted our stay slightly because of the awful noise. We never did get to eat in the restaurant or order room service because the hours of service were very limited. If you stay and want to walk around go toward the BART station and keep walking. The other direction is not very good for safe excursions. We had an ok time, but I don't think we would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the side above the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Washington Inn is exactly what it says it is, a very traditional hotel which has been completely modernized, while retaining its period look. In this case, location is everything if you want to be in the center of "Old Oakland", which is right next to Chinatown. The hotel is clean, well-managed and quite friendly. There is a small breakfast buffet each morning, enough to get you started.
Just around the corner and down the street is a very special wine bar, "District". Across the street from them is a very nice Italian restaurant, "Borgo Italia Bar & Caffe" [499 9th Street]. Both are worth a trip.
I like the Washington Inn very much, and having metered parking available just across the street was a real plus, too

Room Tip: If you';re a light sleeper, ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel, as the street noises ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomR4012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
1.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#10 of 49 in Oakland
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Property: The Washington Inn
Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607-4012
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing