We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown location”
Review of The Washington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Washington Inn
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Was hesitant after reading some negative reviews but liked the positive ones too. Also concern with safety issues with walking around in evening. Turned out hotel was a little gem in a GREAT downtown Oakland location. Yes it was an older hotel built in 1913 with old creaky iron grill elevator, lobby with big long bar (former saloon), pedestal sink in bedroom, small hexagonal floor tiles - all which gave character to the hotel. Room was small (we didn't spend much time there anyway) with very comfortable bed, desk with lamp and chair, bedside table with reading lamp, armoire closet, minifridge, coffeemaker, good size clean bathroom, internet access, and windows that open to fresh air! Didn't hear any noise above or outside the room. Doors were not modern automatic-shut so no slamming door noise. Continental breakfast (toast, cereal, sweet bread, milk, juice, coffee) each morning was simple but adequate. Definitely reminded us of an older European hotel at well under $100/nt. Parking ($12/day) with in/out privileges across street in parking lot structure. Grocery store next door. Convenient downtown location right off Broadway (free city bus up and down Broadway St from Jack London Square up to Lake Merritt). BART one block away. Will definitely stay here again when in Oakland.

Room Tip: Inside rooms claustrophobic as look over skylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank slc49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 235 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed at the Washington Inn May 14-16, 2011. I arrived late because of Amtrak, but the lobby is staffed 24 hours a day. Huge plus for my 2:30AM arrival. My room was spotless, the bed very comfortable. The price was very resonable when compared to the surrounding area. The continental breakfast was lacking, but hey , it was free so what do you expect. The location is a good base for the whole SF- Oakland area. Two block walk to BART. You can't beat that. I was pleasantly surprised especially after reading some of the negative reviews, but I would definately stay here again when I visit the area. This is truly a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

I liked my room It was small but very clean and I liked the breakfast. The Hotel is close to bart and Jack London Sq. I would have stayed even longer but i thought $90 with tax was more than I wanted to pay!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank okpeden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

This hotel is easily one of the worst I've ever stayed in. As you've seen from other posts the place is absolutely filthy, old, and noisy. Ketchup packets were on the ground in the elevator, the carpets in the room were moldy and scuffed. Luckily, I didn't have to deal with the mold in the shower for too long since the hot water ran out after about 4 minutes. AND...I Sh_t you not, there was a used condom sticking out from under the bed skirt. My colleague was stuck on the second floor in a room directly above the restaurant where a party was going full blast until 2 am...Like others, would have left if it hadn't already been prepaid on Expedia.

Needless to say... STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prefabsprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Not sure why it received such bad reviews but the inn is pretty good overall.
Some gripes:
1. We asked the service desk to fix the vent the first night because it was wide open. They never came around to fix it.
2. It was quite stuffy and hot in the room.

Good points:
1. It was at a very, very convenient location. Needed to sit the CA Bar exam at the Convention Center. The inn was right across the road.
2. The packed lunches was a plus- it gave one less thing to think about.
3. The rooms were small but it was ok. The clean was clean and tidy. The beds were soft- had one of the best sleeps there.
4. Customer service- Raj was friendly and did his best to help with any issues.
5. Not sure why other reviewers said it was noisy because it was relatively quiet the whole time I was there.
6. Free wi-fi.

The other thing was parking. Like the other reviewers said, you pay $12 but you had to drop off the security key every time you want to leave. A little inconvenient but it's ok. Better than paying double the price if you went in and out yourself.

Overall, good place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oneyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Historic hotel in great location next to convention center, safe, friendly staff, extremely comfortable room. I was right above the Friday farmer's market (awesome) and access to public transportation was terrific. Aside from the lobby bar not being open and the toilet that would continue to run if you didn't remember to pull the handle up, this was truly a great find and I will definitely return. Queen room only $89 - just make sure you get one on the OUTSIDE as the ones on the inside tend to be claustrophobic!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frenchkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Not sure where photos of this hotel came from but definately not this hotel! Dirty, dingy, worn out! Room was small, fine for one person. Room not clean, worn out, dingy and very noisy. Hotel staff unfriendly. Breakfast does not exsist despite booking! Parking available in building across street at additional charge. Would never suggest this hotel to Anyone!! Hotel was so bad I checked out in 30min. No refund, and parking was not refunded either, expensive 30 min but not worth it to stay there!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judotam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington Inn

Address: 495 10th St, Oakland, CA 94607-4012
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: $122 - $1,069 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Washington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Oakland
Washington Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing