We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Simon, Arizona
1 review
“Getting Better”
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stay a lot for work. They finally updated the work out room and I enjoyed the BBQ they did!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel4work67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    239
    122
    89
    54
See reviews for
271
193
50
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I've stayed in many Homewood Suite because I travel alot with my work. This place does not belong in the Homewood Suite chain. First of all I did not get a suite. I got a microwave and tiny refrigerator in a tiny bedroom. . Second, half of the rooms are on the highway and train track side. I've never stayed in a noisier place. If you want to sleep at night, this is not the place to be. Also, the complimentary breakfast was very disappointing. Regurgitated eggs, stale bread, weak juice. The place is shabby and smells bad too. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadwearytexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I have to say this place is great! This is my third visit here and the staff goes out of their way to make you feel at home. The rooms are clean. I got lucky and got a great water view!! Whats even better is that they have the shuttle that takes you over to jack london square!!! even better is the oyster house next store! I actually made home! Try miss pearls if you go! I was pleased because i had 13 people in my group and mary ann took care of us. Vinny helped us out with places to go in SF!! When i come to the area again, i will stay here!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erichklain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

An overnight stay in Oakland with colleagues, though the accomodations were great and the staff were very friendly and took the time to welcome us and tell us about dining options around the city and in Jack London. WIll be back as we travel to the area monthly.

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CUBuffsGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento ca
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

we were lied to said it was a water front room it wasnt then told we had to pay for valet to park car there was no parking avalable the room was above parking the train went bye every twenty minuites they offered ear plugs we checked out an hour later forgot my battery charger and batteries pluged in for camera and video we called a hour later were told they went up and got them went back next day 8:00am thanksgiving and they said were sorry there gone and there was nothing they could do so dont trust your items in the room oh ya dont forget the parking that was never mentioned until we arrived.and we had to get our own car they just handed us the key couldnt even squeeze in doors had been banged into terrible.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claudia916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We booked this place online. It sounded nice, next to the waterfront, not far from San Francisco. It was absolutely awful. Instead of a peaceful waterfront, we were in a suite next to a very busy freeway. As it turns out, all of the one bedroom suites are located on the busy freeway side of the hotel. It's difficult to describe how unpleasant and noisy this stay was. It can best be summed up in six words, "Avoid this place at all costs!"

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank SoCalTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed here instead of San Francisco as it is only a 15 min drive. and the rates are so much cheaper. One side of the hotel faces the marina and the other side faces the freeway and railroad tracks. We had a room on the freeway side ,but really didn't hear any noise.
The room was typical Homewood Suites 2BR 2 BATH complete breakfast etc.
There are good restaurants about a 10 minute drive in a town called Alameda but is a little tricky to get there. There are also restaurants near the hotel. The area around the hotel was safe even though a 1/2 mile away is a warehouse district. The only problem we had here was an IPOD and a cell phone were missing after we came back from San Francisco. They were in the little table drawer next to the bed. I asked the MGR. on duty that maybe housekeeping made an error and threw them away with the trash, but we knew. I know I put them in there because I was not using them that day. Anyway a great stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwong29371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
888 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
1.5 mi away
Z Hotel Jack London Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing