We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel - Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2006

We recently had a family gathering over the weekend and held it at this hotel. Everyone from our family (about 80 of us) stayed here and I didn't hear any complaints! The staff were very accomodating, friendly and professional, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The rooms were VERY clean, the breakfast was incredible, and the service, as I stated before, was great. We enjoyed every part of our 4 day stay in Oakland, and would stay here again. We did have a waterfront view, which was absolutely beautiful, and the rooms were huge. There is nothing about this hotel that I would change. If you are thinking about staying here, I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank circusisintown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (958)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

930 - 936 of 958 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2006

yuck - please dont stay here - the room had a broken mirror - the AC did not work and the hotel back faced the container storage yard and the front of the hotel was 10 feet away from the freeway and the oakland railway tracks. its horrible - i could not sleep at night.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davelister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

The setting of this hotel really deserves four, or even five circles. However, there were some dramatic problems that should be resolved in short order.
Check-in was great ... the clerk was really happy that I was able to assist her in getting her Spanish speaking maintenance man to complete a chore. She went out of her way in trying to accomodate my request to be on the water - rather than the street - side. (Although I actually felt that this should have been automatic, given that I am a Diamond level HH member).No worries there, it was done.
The breakfast was above average, and the employees manning the area were cheerful.
Now comes the main issue - it is the Saturday before Easter. We return to the room about 9:30 PM after having been out since ten in the morning. The room was not serviced AT ALL. The bed was not made, the towels were not replaced, nothing, nada, zip.
We called down to try and get some clean towels (at least), and were told that the housekeepers had gone home. (??!??). What? No 24-hour staffing? Come on, this is a Hilton property in a major metropolitan area! That corner just can't be cut.
Just after we had a maintenance fellow come up with a couple of towels for a quick shower, and some slumber - the fire alarm went off. (I realize that is not the property's fault, but a courtesy apology would have been welcome).
We checked out fairly early on Easter Sunday, and headed for Colorado Springs. From there, I called Shelly Moranville (the GM of the Oakland property) first thing on Monday morning. She did not return my calls, and I finally managed to get a hold of her, via the front desk staff, late in the afternoon. Ms. Moranville explained that she had been out of town the previous week (doesn't that mean that she leaves a competent second-in-command at the helm?), and that possibly some things had not been properly attended to (ya THINK?)
She said that housekeeping had experienced some sick calls, and that some rooms hadn't been serviced. Matter-of-fact, no apologies. I was flabbergasted. In lieu of the Hilton Guarantee (i.e. refund on one night's stay) she magnanimously offered us another weekend night. The jury is still out.
In summary, the property is nice, but the management has taken a minimalist approach to staffing - and it shows.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2006

Stayed at the Homewood while visiting family and it was great! We had a one bedroom "suite" - there is nothing separating the "bedroom" from the sitting area, but the room is spacious and lovely. Very comfortable with a walkout to a nice walking path along the marina. The staff was extremely helpful - moved us to a waterfront room upon request. The breakfast was quite good, changed a little bit each day - and the nightly cocktail hour (wine, beer) was a nice touch! The lobby is very homey - the view is nice -and the convenience to the highway can't be beat. Overall, a very pleasant experience!

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pscho57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2005

I recently stayed there with my husband and two friends. We booked a two bedroom suite. Our checkin was prompt and we were pleased to get a suite on the waterfront side - the views were wonderful. Location was great since we were going to an event at the Oakland Arena, and the freeway on ramp was right in front of the hotel. In the morning we had an enjoyable time eating our breakfast outside on the waterfront - great way to start the day.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2005

We've just returned from 4 nights at the Homewood Suites, Oakland. We found the facilities & food great and the staff very helpful. We did have a problem one night with the courtesy bus being 45 minutes late picking us up but it was fine every other time. Our room had a great view overlooking the waterfront. The front of the hotel overlooks the freeway - ugly and noisy so make sure you request waterfront suite.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank davehChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

The room was clean but that's about it! This hotel is right on the highway and we had a room facing it - the traffic noise and vibration was constant - even at the wee hours of the night! We also thought the beds and pillows were substandard - not comfortable at all. If you want to sleep don't stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
924 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
4.9 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,032 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $159 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing