We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Military Orders Alameda/Oakland Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel was great, location was convenient to base, not a lot to do in the surrounding area, kind of secluded. If room is on interstate side, very noisy. The outside is really nice and the breakfast was very good. Staff very friendly, internet not as fast as needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Rene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 954 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

Hotel clean, the room was excellent and very roomy, The location on the waterfront of Oakland is great. Great location for visiting SF or Oakland. The dinner was a great surprise, and breakfast was good. A great value for the money, nice clean room, dinner and breakfast!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We need shuttle to places we have plans to go to. The shuttle driver was very helpful and on time everyday. Evening happy hours reception was pretty good, tasty food, and has more variety than most of other hotels we have been to.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Hieu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Outstanding waterfront walkway, easy access to highways and local restaurants. Hotel staff is friendly and eager to serve. Outstanding breakfast selection and very good light supper offerings. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We reserved to stay at this hotel at the beginning and end of our vacation, booking for a King bed both times. When we first got to the hotel after an 11 hour trans Atlantic flight we checked in and went to our room. We wound down, had a snack and so sometime later we went to bed which is when we realised that we didn't have a King sized bed. We were not in the mood to take it up so we left it to the morning. The bed was a very small Queen size (if a Queen at all). When we took it up with the reception desk staff in the morning they explained that we'd been upgraded to a suite, but without telling nor asking us. We pointed out that we didn't care about the space it was the bed that was important to us. We went off to play golf and they moved all our stuff to a standard king room.

When we came back 2 weeks later, guess what! We complained immediately but were in a rush to get to the A's baseball. The desk staff explained that they had a number of people who had extended their stays and that they had no king beds available but that they had upgraded us to a suite. By their logic we could have been given a box in the car park and it would have been considered an upgrade.

So 2 nights of crap sleep because the hotel doesn't seem to have enough king bed rooms and they try to sweeten the pill with an 'upgrade' that might not be suitable. If the bed size isn't important to you, book a standard king and arrive late and you might get that upgrade.

Other than that problem the rest of the hotel couldn't be faulted, thought the breakfast was a little plain and Ok if you were in a hurry.

For us, we'll stick with Hampton Inns and Suites in the future. Homewood aren't worth the risk.

Room Tip: Make sure you get your room type at check-in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagorTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

we found the hotel accomodating and met our needs. Its location made us hesitate at first but once we found our way arround it was satisfactory. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast met our needs. Parkng could be a problem. one night there were no spots left. Had to go to the desk to complain. The peson removed their personal vehicle and made space for us. There is a bar next door that uses hotel spaces from time to time. That complicates parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Myron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I enjoy the food, the view, the room and the price. I experienced no problems or defaults. The service was excellent. This is all going to say about this property. This is all going to say about this property. This is all going to say about this property. This is all going to say about this property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guests. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Darcella Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.4 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
918 reviews
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayside Hotel
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
4.9 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 49 in Oakland
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $161 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing