We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Oakland by the Water” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oakland by the Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel staff could not have been nicer. The suite, facing the water, was lovely with a pleasant view. The only problem was the person who allocates the budget for purchasing for the hotel. On Saturday and Sunday, at breakfast, they kept running out of plates and silverware. Have you ever tried eating cereal with a knife or fork? The staff did the best they could to wash and dry everything as fast as possible but it was not a good situation. Other than than, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    195
    78
    57
    32
See reviews for
202
150
42
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel is in a lovely setting by the water - albeit the local area is a bit industrial. The combination of the free breakfast and dinner mid week makes it great value given it is just outside the tourist zone. The outside pool is clean and well maintained. The kitchenette is a good size and catered for our family group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil61a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guest. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I was here for a week.
i had a city side room (waterside rooms were sold out and couldn't move). The claims of noise just didn't materialize for me. The rooms are fully equipped as advertised... Easy to eat in but you don't need to.
Comfortable bed. Spacious, clean, comfortable room.
This isn't a 3 star hotel but the price tag clarifies that for you.
The hotel is at Least 10 years old but well Maintained.
The meals served here were fine.
Well prepared, inexpensive meals.
Great little salad available every night.
Wonderful service every time I needed it.
Room was given thorough service each day.
Very happy with my stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShAronmarie3311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are so sorry that the waterside room was not avalibale but appreicate the kind words about the property. We hope that you will return if in the Oakland area in the future.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Clean and adequate but nothing special and the staff was not helpful. Breakfast was OK but not on a par with other hotels of this caliber and the eggs were not restocked, the sausage was very dry, and there were no sweet pastries on offer. Fruit was very limited.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Roxanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, PA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

if your looking for a great value and don't wanna pay the high price of the san francisco hotels this is your ideal situation. Located just out on the oakland waterfront 30 minutes outside visitor points in san francisco, the homewood suites on the oakland waterfront was a great choice for me on my business trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spazole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guest. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, NM
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights and were very pleased. Our queen suite was very spacious, comfortable, and clean. Not having a water view was no problem as we were out all day. We were not bothered by highway noise at night. It was very convenient to get on the Bay Bridge to go to San Francisco (toll 1 way only) and there is a wonderful restaurant, Quinn's Lighthouse, about a mile down the road with great seafood, ribs, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was okay, and the free weekday dinners were a nice touch. We would definitely stay here again, and pass on the high prices of staying in San Francisco.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fahcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Spent three nights at the Homewood Suites Oakland-Waterfront in mid-July.... a very nice stay! Had a spacious one bedroom suite looking over the pool/waterfront. I would highly recommend booking/asking for a waterfront view as the front looks at the I-880 freeway. The breakfast was very good each morning as was the manager's reception in the evening.... no line-up issues during the weekdays we were there. The staff was very helpful when requests were made and extremely friendly. The hotel is located in an area of Oakland (The Port of Oakland) that is being revitalized - your first impression might be a good one, but it's a great spot with easy access to the highway to go to San Francisco, Napa or anywhere in the Bay Area. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummerhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. We strive to get to know each of our guest. I will certainly share your comment with the rest of the staff. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing