We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“This hotel provides excellent value, comfort, and convenience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Del Mar, California
1 review
“This hotel provides excellent value, comfort, and convenience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband, 22 year old daughter and two labradoodles stayed in this hotel for a week, in a non smoking two bedroom suite on the third (top) floor facing the water. I am very picky and uptight about cleanliness, service, comfort and convenience, and the Homewood Suites deserves A grades for all of the above. The staff were unfailingly friendly and attentive. The rooms and beds were well laid out and comfortable. The bandwidth was fine and we each had a desk. The waterfront rooms have lovely views and are the quietest hotel rooms I have ever experienced, including at much more expensive luxury hotels. And for those traveling with dogs, there is green space and a good walking path right in front along the water. The dogs loved it! Even the breakfast was good, with fresh fruit and not junk food. I have stayed in much fancier hotels, but none that provided such excellent value, especially for the Bay Area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    200
    92
    68
    36
See reviews for
223
159
42
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
169 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. The waterside rooms are very quiet with a great view. The staff is friendly and have been very helpful. I'm on a long term project, and look forward to staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The noise from the highway is terrible. It will wake you up in the middle of the night and won't let you back to sleep.
I might say the room itself was very nice, but what is it worth if you can't sleep... I'm not sure how's the other side. The only room I was ofered on the other side was a smoking one with very heavy odor. I booked for 3 nights and check-out after the first to never return again.

Room Tip: NEVER take highway sied
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ami646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles B, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hello ami646,

I would like to thank you for your response. I value all feedback, as it truly assists me in improving our guest service. I would like to apologize for your unfortunate experience during your stay this past week. We strive very hard to provide the best guest experience possible and honor everyone's requests; unfortunately during periods of high occupancy it is very hard to honor all of our guest's requests. I would like to extend an invitation to you to visit our hotel again and allow us to make amends for your recent experience. Please contact me directly when you return to our area.

Once again, I do sincerely apologize.

Thank you and I hope to meet you in person when you return.

Charles G. Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived at this hotel fairly late as we had travelled from Los Angeles on the Coast Starlight train. On arrival at the hotel we had a friendly welcome and were shown to our Waterside suite. The suite was large and very comfortable - it was impeccably clean and we had an excellent waterside view (as requested). We also liked the position of this hotel - it was within walking distance of the Lake Merrit metro and we used this to go to and from San Francisco. (We did find the ticketing confusing - being British, but we found fellow travellers very willing to help). We had a pleasant hour walk along the marina. We also walked to Jack London Square where we had an excellent lunch before catching the metro to the airport. Altogether a very good experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walker90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We are very pleased you enjoyed our convenient location near Lake Merritt metro. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Darcella Wright
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
242 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is my second stay here so I knew what I getting into. However my second stay didn’t go as well as the first. I tried to avoid the noisy highway side to no avail. I should have tried harder. The highway is super noisy. And it was a rare warm day the AC was not up to the challenge. I would of like to have opened the window but the noise was too much. The hotel has two buildings connected by an outdoor walk way. Also recommend avoid the second building if you can. It is the step child of the hotel. All the services are in the first building. The front desk, the gym, and the breakfast and free dinner are in the first floor of the first building. I felt like I was intruding every time walked over. Also avoid the corner rooms, they are odd shaped and lots of useable space.
My biggest gripe was that they would not honor the per dieum rate. And even though I was on orders and in uniform they charged me tax. Thus the stay cost we $40 of my own funds when it should have been covered. Oh well live an learn. I will seek out other options on my next trip.

Room Tip: avoid the expressway side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of amenities/service you deserve. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at Homewood Suites. Your concerns will be address with the management team. We appreciate your feedback and I will be reaching out to you in order to make this right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we stayed here 3 times always courtious good food on mornings and eve week nights for dinner beds were great shuttle was good and they picked us up and took us back from the airport will stay here again jr

Room Tip: bring your own lunch and drinks to save money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarraraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This was my second visit to this hotel (the first was 1 year ago) and the service is still second to none. I held a meeting at the hotel during my stay and the staff took care of everything I asked for and did it with a smile.

My suite was on the water side and the view was spectacular. Last year I was on the freeway side but it still had an OK view and the noise from the freeway was barely audible as long as the window was closed.

Breakfast and dinner were very nice as was sitting out back sipping coffee and enjoying the view of the channel. The lobby and eating areas are immaculate as was my room.

The location is conveniently right off the 880 freeway and not in downtown Oakland but is only about a 4 minute drive away from Oakland.

I stay 100+ nights per year at various hotels but this one is special. I am looking forward to my next trip to the bay area.

Room Tip: Waterside is great but the freeway side is more affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darcella W, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed comments about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We will certainly share your insights with the entire team and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Darcella Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
1.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
Address: 1103 Embarcadero, Oakland, CA 94606-5122
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Oakland
#4 Family Hotel in Oakland
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oakland
#5 Green Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Oakland Waterfront Hotel Oakland
Homewood Suites Oakland
Homewood Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing