We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected bonus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located near a BART station. Upon my arrival, I was given 8 chocolate squares from some promotion. The room is relatively large. The modest fitness center (with only one elliptical machine) opens 24 hours, which is nice. The hotel is next to Chinatown. The unexpected bonus is that it is across from a farmers' market, where I bought flowers and fruits quite cheaply (probably because it was near the end at 2 pm) for my relatives.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Clean, nice hotel with a friendly staff. Enjoyed Breakfast options. Especially thank Mr Shafi for hospitality during Breakfast hours. Only hitch was confusion in the staff about a misplaced poster which gave me a sleepless night till the same staff came again. This was avoidable had there been more coordination between hotel staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsachinmittal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Free Wi-Fi in the room that was pretty fast. The hotel is 3 blocks away from the 12th Street BART station which makes getting into San Fran very quick. The TV channel selection was decent and much easier to navigate than the City Center Marriott across the street. I would stay at the Courtyard Marriott in Oakland rather than the City Center due to the free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dancethekipples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was clean, comfortable, and a very convenient location. I stayed there with my sister while visiting my son. We thought the price was very good and the staff was especially attentive. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Ever been to downtown Oakland? Well, when I say that this hotel is an oasis from the chaos that is downtown Oakland, I mean that both literally and figuratively. Unless you have business in Oakland (which I frequently do) or are feeling strong, you may never want to venture outside this hotel. Great staff, clean and spacious rooms, and overall enjoyable stay. Keep up the great work!

One note on the "special offer" offered here on TripAdvisor... It's just to earn Marriott points I would have earned on my own otherwise? Not sure what the "special" or "offer" there is in that? No reflection on hotel and its great staff, however.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced, the staff is great, and located in Chinatown in downtown Oakland.

The valet service is great- they are very attentive and you can tell that they are working hard. We always had our car parked onsite, though I know that they move some of the cars offsite if the hotel is busy (which it takes a little longer to get your car).

The room was clean and it's a great value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Six of us were in Oakland for a wedding. The hotel was conveniently located near the 12th St. BART stop so this first timer to CA could do some sightseeing as well as walk to the wedding at the Oakland Museum and the post-wedding brunch at Lake Merritt. But the best part of the stay was the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly and helpful staff. Shout out to Kristy McC.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateW-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
1.9 mi away
Executive Inn & Suites
Executive Inn & Suites
#2 of 49 in Oakland
931 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oakland-Waterfront
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
5.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4064
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range: $126 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. Additional fees: Self-Parking: 40 USD Valet: 30 USD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing