We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Service, Next to Chinatown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Service, Next to Chinatown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Love the location and is close to the 12th street BART station. You can get here from SFO in less than an hour for less than $8.50pp. I got a nice welcome back from the lobby staff after I returned from dinner. My room faced Broadway so I could hear road noise at night but it wasn't too bothersome. If you want a quiet room, you should ask for a room to face the courtyard. My room has been renovated. I love the style. The bed is a bit on the soft side. They separate the bathroom sink from the bathroom so it is nice. However, there is no trash can inside the bathroom. They have it outside. This hotel is currently under renovation, so the lobby is extremely small at this moment. Once the lobby is fully renovated, it will look very nice. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    123
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
45
48
33
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olney, Maryland
Level Contributor
253 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

You get what you expect from a Courtyard. Clean rooms. A bit on the boutique-y side boarding Chinatown. Very friendly staff. The hotel is undergoing a renovation. Across the street from the Friday Farmers market. Lot's of restaurants nearby. Neighborhood seems a little sketchy but I felt safe walking the main streets at night. Within walking distance to the 12th BART station. The only negative was the workout room that had old equipment was weren't in the best working conditions. But this should be improved with the renovation. I found a rate for under $100, so it was a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alliecat2842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Super weekend rate! Great Breakfast! Great newly remodeled room! Great Service! Next to Chinatown. We decided to park on the street and it was easy enough to find street parking on the weekend. Easy to maneuver around. After reading many of the reviews we decided that the area was not really an issue and it wasn't.....will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TGlobalFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've had to go to Oakland Ca. several times last year and earlier this Jan.and the hotel choices are minimal at best. The full serve Marriott is too often sold out at my company's rate and I've had to go across the street 3 times. It is old-school Courtyard in a dreary looking 'storefront' location on Broadway. Doors lock at night and security is on-site, because, to say the least, the neighborhood can be unnerving, especially at night.
The hotel is finally catching up with the times and in the midst of upgrading to the newer Courtyard model. But the rooms need upgrading as well. Took me up to 5 minutes to get warm water in the sink. Same worn out towels you get at most Courtyards. My co-worker returned every night to her room and got a cheap high as the 'weed' odor wafted into her room - every night! It's Oakland - I get it! Breakfast room was freezing - weather was quite cold, but hey, turn the heat on. Company paid $194 per night before the $27 tax - Yup, I said corporate rate of $194.
Positives: Immediate area seems to have private security guards and there are several good restaurants 2 blocks away - area well lit
Positive: Everyone on the staff was good and cordial
Recommendation: BART is on 2-3 stops from downtown San Francisco, close to everything and likely cheaper rates!

Room Tip: rooms inside are quieter though street is not much of an issue in front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DillyScarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, CA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is my first time in Oakland. I have stayed with Marriott before, so I know their reputation. This one is right in China Town, which I like. There is a art & Final right across the street. My room was very clean and cozy. The staff was awesome and genuinely smiling. I have to come up here periodically for school, so this will be my Bat cave when am here. I have been in worse neighborhoods than this. Just be aware of your surroundings and use common sense...that goes for anywhere you go.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

In a great part of town - nice beds - quiet rooms, the staff is the best, so extra friendly, they went out of their way for each little request. The neighborhood restaurants are the greatest, enjoyed my two days there, next to China town, Get there on Friday for the little market across the street. Wonderful produce and the best street food ever, such varieties.

Room Tip: there is not a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FRIBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

In downtown Oakland, there's always a bit of concern about the quality and safety of the neighborhood. This hotel was easy to get to. The parking attendant staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and quiet. The workout room was adequate with several treadmills and free weights. The desk staff were helpful in giving us directions to a restaurant which was within walking distance of the hotel-a brew pub. I felt safe walking in the neighborhood in the evening. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised and happy that they gave the State rate. The hotel is very close to a BART station and The California Endowment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DakotaSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
0.1 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#22 of 48 in Oakland
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Property: Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. Additional fees: Self-Parking: 40 USD Valet: 30 USD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Oakland Courtyard
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing