We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fantastic hotel in a very good location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4064   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #9 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel in a very good location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We were allocated a room on the 20th floor which had fantastic views over San Francisco Bay. Staff were very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you for a great few days and we would definitely come back in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dotwud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    123
    33
    14
    8
See reviews for
45
48
33
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed at this Courtyard several times over the past few years on my annual visit to friends in Livermore. Love the location, good for Chinatown, the California Museum, Lake Merritt, various very good restaurants in the area and BART is a block away. This year, unfortunately, it is booked up for the dates I need and I'll have to stay elsewhere. Very disappointing, esp. when I'm booking weeks in advance. Oh, well....

Room Tip: Good restaurants all around hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenrose314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed here numerous time and seem to have issues with this property. So on my last stay (9/23-24) it was issues with the "HOT" water it took for ever to get hot and when it did it wasn't real hot but that wasn't my main concern. My GF valet her car at 5am and when she valet she asked how much the cost would be and the gentleman told her $14 but at checkout they wrote $17 after complaining to the front desk, the lady at the front desk then called for a manager and another worker said "whats the problem"? and she responded that we didn't want to pay for the parking. At no time did I say I didn't want to pay for parking, the issue was the change in pricing than what was quoted. The manager came up and really didn't care, they made a big deal over $3. So I would reccomend that you make sure you verify parking fee before giving your car to Valet. For a $220 a night stay and being a Marriott Elite rewards member I didn't see the proper customer service also if you ever get the jacuzzi room check the jacuzzi immediately on a previous stay it didn't work and I didn't know til after a couple of check in.

Otherwise this is a nice Courtyard, very clean and fresh smelling.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jr876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We were in need and the hotel came through. The prices allowed my stressed out friends to enjoy a great weekend with my wife and me. I loved the value and got the same service that I would have gotten from a five star.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffkukral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a very clean, well kept Courtyard. The common areas are very useable, and the rooms are comfortable. Wi-Fi worked well and was easy to log on. Staff was very friendly and efficient. The pool is not one you can swim laps, pool and the exercise room are very small. ( minor quibble, there were no disinfecting wipes to use on the equipment.) There were towels and water. Pleasant surprise on Friday morning was the farmers market across Broadway, I had a french pastry and ripe peaches for breakfast! I used Bart to get here from Oakland airport for the first time. It's doable (you have to take a shuttle bus from the airport to the Bart line) But this is an easy walk from the 12th street exit if you are not laden with luggage.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ubermeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Courtyard Oakland mainly because we could use Reward Points. However, we were pleased with this clean, quiet hotel. The queen beds in our room were very comfortable. WiFi was free and easy to use. The neighborhood was a pleasant surprise. It was fun exploring nearby Chinatown. I wished I'd had more time to spend in Old Oakland, which is very attractive with a fun Farmers' Market on Friday mornings. The free shuttle up and down Broadway makes it easy to get to Jack London Square and the ferry to San Francisco. We'd definitely return to this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MmeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Some family members and I stayed at this hotel while attending a family member's wedding in Benicia. Very nicely decorated and clean hotel. My room was large, with a very comfortable bed and siting area. I felted safe while staying at this quiet hotel in the downtown area of Oakland. It is a few short blocks from Jack London Square and Freeways connecting to San Francisco and Berkeley. I enjoyed my room which faced the busy China Town's Farmers Market. There is no parking garage available at this location for self-parking but there is a very good valet service. Just a call to the front desk and your car will be waiting at the front entrance of the hotel. This hotel had a friendly staff and served a good breakfast brunch. I would stay at this location again if in the Bay Area again and I also recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Starforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Oakland Marriott City Center
0.5 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel-Downtown Oakland
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Jack London Square
0.1 mi away
The Washington Inn
The Washington Inn
#21 of 48 in Oakland
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Downtown

Property: Courtyard Oakland Downtown
Address: 988 Broadway, Oakland, CA 94607-4064
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Downtown Oakland hotel is nestled between the Old Oakland Historic District and Chinatown just one block from the BART subway to San Francisco. Get to Union Square in San Francisco in just a 12-minute ride. Guests enjoy free internet, spacious rooms, an outdoor heated pool, an onsite fitness center, and an onsite restaurant. The Courtyard Oakland Downtown is perfect for business or leisure travelers and is nearby attractions such as Jack London Square. Additional fees: Self-Parking: 40 USD Valet: 30 USD ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Downtown Hotel Oakland
Oakland Courtyard
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing