We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“bad taste in mouth” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“bad taste in mouth”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in July 2013 to be close to the airport for an early morning departure. The hotel as mentioned in other reviews is surrounded by a fence and security was good considering the neighborhood. Other amenities of the hotel including the snack bar and breakfast service were adequate. However there was a major problem with the glassware provided in the room, see attached picture. I did not pay attention closely enough after unwrapping it and poured a drink into it for my wife. Fortunately, she noticed the huge greasy fingerprints on the inside of the glass before taking a drink. It was disgusting I brought it to the attention of the manager and he offered a free coke as an apology. That was ludicrous wont be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere appoligies about the unacceptable service you recieved while you were staying with us. This kind of service is not acceptable. Please email me your contact information I would like to make this situation right.

Billdalleske@Remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
58
65
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

I travel often for business and am rarely disappointed with any Marriott property. This one was the typical Courtyard room with a very nice mattress. Always exceptional and professional staff. No problems at all to speak of except one thing that was not in the control of the hotel...there is some kind of business behind the hotel that apparently has guard dogs that barked all night. Not continuously, just frequently. I would have given this a 5 if not for the dogs and I know it's not their fault. Ask for a room that is not in the back and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our staff. My appoligies about the barking dog behind our property. I will personally walk over and discuss this situation with the property owner.

Always at your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I didn't get to the hotel until 11 PM and left at 8 AM. I was basically there to sleep due to a change in travel plans. I was really disappointed that they had a $8 parking fee and was honestly surprised. This isn't downtown San Francisco where parking spaces are limited and in high demand. This is the Oakland Airport area. The parking lot was not even 1/3 full when I arrived late at night. There was not a high demand for parking and there were a lot of open parking spaces. There is no need to charge for parking.

I totally thought it was just another way to gouge someone that is already paying $150 and was completely annoyed by it to the point where I wouldn't stay here again. I'm already paying $150 and you nickel and dime me for $8 to park a car when there are ample spaces?

Also, my room had two socks left on the floor and multiple hairs in the bathtub. I know it's hard to get a room spotless clean and would have not mentioned this if it was just one thing about cleanliness but there were two cleanliness issues.

Average hotel. If you get a good rate and just sleeping here then go for it. If you don't get a good rate I'd search elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear about your displeasure with our parking and housekeeping situations. We take your feedback seriously. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience with you further. My contact information is below.

Always at your service,

Bill Dalleske
General Manager
Billdalleske@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you have to be in this area, this hotel is a safe, clean and modern place to stay. The airport and Oracle Arena are both within five minutes drive. The hotel certainly understands that guests who do not know the area want to feel secure: the hotel is surrounded by a gate, there is ID necessary to get into the parking lot, ID necessary if coming into the hotel late, security cameras, and an attentive front desk staff. The staff was generous with offering shuttle services to the airport, arena and other locations that, although within walking distance, are not ideal walks for guests unfamiliar with the area. The rooms and hotel were a typical Courtyard by Marriott: clean, well-maintained and with fresh linens. There should be more laundry machines for the number of guests staying at the hotel, but it was still nice not to have to find a laundromat in this area. The elevator is slow, so consider staying on the first floor (but see tip below). There was no microwave in the room.

Room Tip: Consider asking for a room on the second floor if you are traveling alone, since the hotel rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
LynnJD,

Thank you for your review and the kind words about our Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Always at your service,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANTECA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was so wonderful and refreshing to stay at this Hotel. The costumer service was by far EXCELLENT in every way. Location to food outlet and walking distance to the shopping Hubs.
Parking was secured and somewhat pricey, still that didnt stop me from enjoying my stay at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAMELA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here in October, 2012, should have written review sooner. As I remember, the pool wasn't too clean.....hope that's been fixed! Room of course was typical Marriott, clean, quiet, well appointed. It was a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Safe and convenient to airport, no restaurants nearby, had to go into Oakland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenrose314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for writing we look forward to seeing you again soon. Please let me know if I can book a reservation for you again in the future.

Bill Dalleske
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
401 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it's in a semi-rough area, but frankly, the property is clean, secure, and well maintained.

Recently started charging for parking, which isn't necessary.

The staff is EXCELLENT. They really pay attention. This Courtyard picks you up at the rental car facility, has very early airport shuttles, still serves free coffee in the AM (that's a big deal).

Give them a try!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Tim H.

Thank you for your kind words I hope to see you next time your in the Oakland area. Please let me know if I can assist you with reservations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Airport

Property: Courtyard Oakland Airport
Address: 350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1445
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax minutes from your flight at the newly renovated Courtyard Oakland Airport Hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout the lobby and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Oakland airport hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby BART train station, giving you access to Berkeley, San Francisco and beyond. Here to work? Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk, and free high-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing