We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Nights 2 Experiences One Good One Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“2 Nights 2 Experiences One Good One Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

Spent a Tuesday and Thursday night here recently due to proximity to Oakland airport. This and all other hotels in the area are very close to the terminal. Hotel staff at the Courtyard is top-notch accommodating and friendly. The Bistro staff is the best I have seen at any Courtyard by far. On the first night there were no issues. On the second stay I was in a room at the far end of the property and there was a dog barking all-night long, apparently from an adjacent property. This was very disruptive. Do not take a room at this part of the hotel. It is 50/50 on if I would stay here again. Rooms are typical Courtyard sized. TV is OK with respectable selection of channels. Food options in area are very limited. Hotel did pick up at rental car drop off which is courteous and runs shuttles often.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermagictasticguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    102
    51
    18
    16
See reviews for
58
65
15
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Good service. Clean hotel ,close to airport. Will definitely recommend hotel. The front desk gentleman was very helpful . Got a early morning 4 am shuttle from hotel.
Got a good distressed passenger rate from front desk as well as my flight was cancelled. The airline did not get us reduced rates as it was the lack of air traffic controller and not the airline mistake.The folks at Marriott helped.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Udawn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night on business. Very clean. Nice decor in lobby and bistro. Room was spacious, although the set up is different with the bed facing the windows. Bathroom amenities were skimpy. Just the basics. Very clean. Hallways are kinda noisy though. Everytime someone was going by sounded like it was in my room. $8 for parking I believe. I used the shuttle to and from the airport. The neighboorhood is sketchy but the hotel is gated. Quick to airport too. Definitely would stay here again. Service was wonderful. Everyone was smiling and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2FlyAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
251 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This Courtyard was a pleasant surprise, given its proximity to Oakland Airport. It was pleasant and well maintained. Everything was in perfect working order. The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful.

The beds were a bit soft, but that seems to be what people want these days (contrary to consistent medical opinion about lack of back support). Rooms were comfortable.

The downside was the bistro approach to dining. Pretty limited, and quickly prepared. Without being mean, you can get a better breakfast at a fast-food location. And, contrary to prevailing mythology, not all people like Starbucks, which they sell. So, between the Marriott Barrista brand of coffee, and Starbucks, the coffee options are unpleasant to me.

Leaving aside the dining and coffee, it was a perfectly fine and pleasant hotel in a great location. I will stay there again - and bring my own coffee!

Room Tip: Away from Hegenberger Road is your best and quietest location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Only one person manning the desk and hotel requests when I arrived. I had used the "Extra Pillows" request when I had reserved a room online, but none were provided in the room (had the same issue with the Marriott Resort & Spa in Waikoloa, HI so it seems that Marriott in general doesn't pay attention to the online booking requests).
I called down to reception asking for the pillows (being 7 months pregnant, extra pillows are a necessity). One hour later (i.e. 11:30PM) still no sign of the pillows. My husband called reception again and had to remind the reception person as they had forgotten. 30mins later, still no sign. FInally my husband had to walk down to reception and go with the receptionist to get the pillows in person and bring them back to the room - great service, huh???
Don't get the "Starbucks" coffee at the little breakfast bar there - the person that makes them is not Starbucks trained - the coffee was illegally hot and I scalded my mouth, and the coffee tasted burnt (presumably because it had been heated too hot).
Trying to get a shuttle back to the airport was a bit interesting - the receptionist told me we couldn't get an earlier shuttle as she was the driver and had to drop another guest to the car rental, call a cab for another guest, and basically....long story short - this hotel only ever seems to have one person working at a time and therefore service is non-existant. If you have plenty of time to spare to hang around waiting for the staff here, go ahead and stay, but you won't find me staying here again. The Holiday Inn looks like a better bet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. After reading your feedback, I am disappointed that your time with us was not satisfactory. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced.

Our priority is to take care of our guests and provide them with exceptional service it appears that in your case we fell dreadfully short of providing the service that we are proud of.

Once more, I am very sorry for the experience you had at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oakland hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently stayed with my husband at this hotel for a couple of days for a wedding, and I just had to praise the staffs that were working the day that we stayed here. The front desk was very friendly. I really wanted to mention Hong. We weren’t happy with our first room, but she switched our room right away and everything was fine. I am not from the area, but she was so sweet from the minute we walked in until we left. We are not locals so we were a little lost on where to eat or hang out and she gave us a few places to go to. We took her advice and always enjoyed ourselves. Thank you Hong for working at the Marriott! If anyone plans to stay here ask for Hong.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara_8_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm pleased that you had a great time and that Hong took such great care of you during your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Airport!

Our goal is to always exceed expectations, it is always wonderful and motivating to hear great feedback about our team members.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to the bay area.
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn Creek, Missouri
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Recently I made several room reservations for a family function in the area. The online reservation process was easy and accurate! During our stay we needed directions to some nearby loacatons and the staff was very helpful with their advice. After our stay I had some questions about the billing which were quickly answered by the General Manger to my satisfaction. In the past when I've needed a hotel in this area I have always chosen this hotel and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm so glad that you had a great time and that I was able to assist you with your billing questions. It’s always wonderful to hear that from our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#11 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
4.3 mi away
Executive Inn and Suites
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Airport

Property: Courtyard Oakland Airport
Address: 350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621-1445
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax minutes from your flight at the newly renovated Courtyard Oakland Airport Hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout the lobby and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Oakland airport hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby BART train station, giving you access to Berkeley, San Francisco and beyond. Here to work? Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk, and free high-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Marriott, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Marriott
Oakland Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing