We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Oakland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Airport
Ranked #12 of 48 Hotels in Oakland
South Jersey
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Convenient to airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel is clean and convenient to the airport. It is not for a relaxing week-end or a good rest.

1. Even the "quiet" rooms in the back include the barking guard dog in the commercial area in the next block.
2. The mattresses are spent. Big beds but so soft, so uncomfortable. Asked for another room, but the bed there was the same. Ended up sleeping on the 18" nearest the wall because it was less used. I think hotel managers have forgotten the benefits of occasionally flipping the mattress.
3. I feared Big Foot was staying upstairs from the sound of heavy foot steps.

For the area, it is probably the best bet, but unless you are using the airport stay further away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at our hotel. After reading your feedback, I am disappointed that your time with us was not satisfactory. Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced.

Our priority is to ensure a good nights sleep, I am sorry that you found the beds less than comfortable, many of our guests rave about the Courtyard bed.

Once more, I am very sorry for the experience you had at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    91
    48
    15
    15
See reviews for
51
62
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

I stay at this hotel quite frequently as we travel to Oakland a lot. I prefer to stay out here instead of downtown. The front desk staff always welcomes us with a smile when we arrive. Ask for a quiet room away from the road and you shouldn't hear any interrupting noises. The restaurant in the hotel makes a great breakfast when you don't have much time. If you like sushi try Yoshino Sushi restaurant only a few min walk away. It's always one of our dinner choices. Internet is good in hotel as well as a very comfortable bed.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Globalexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, our team strives to be a welcoming face of Oakland when our guests arrive after a long day of travel.

So happy to hear you mention our comfortable beds!

Look forward to meeting you during your next visit.
Best regards.
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our trip to SFO cudn't have been better without this hotel. Reasons:

1. Free shuttle to nearby BART(public rail transport)& Oakland Airport(from where we could get a car rental on a Sunday)
2. Location- U'l feel away from hustle and bustle amid calm and relaxed environment. Enjoyed pool facing view from room
3. Complimentary parking
4. Good lobby offering a list from their Bistro menu. So, can go around and binge something. Being vegetarian, I mostly walked down to Subway close-by
5. Friendly staff

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonna895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel! Our hotel is very conveniently located to shops, restaurants and public transportation, I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of our Bistro and complimentary shuttle service to public transportation.

Our team strives to be the best that we can be and always knowlegeable and welcoming.

I will pass your notes along to our staff! Thank you for choosing the Oakland Airport Courtyard and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If I were to be staying in the lobby, than this place is awesome. The lobby is spacious, clean and modern. The room was lacking. There is a flat screen TV, but it seems very 80s to me. Plus, the walls are think and I could hear everything in the next room. The bathroom was ok, nothing special. Front desk was very effeicient. For the price - paid over $200 - I thought it was just ho hum.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kcollett67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our hotel, our lobby was recently renovated and completed in March 2012. Our guest room renovation was completed in 2009, we strive to exceed expectations, unfortunately it sounds as though we missed the mark.

I was disappointed to read about noise coming from your neighboring room, our desk staff are availiable 24 hours a day so never hesitate to call the front desk when you encounter noise disruption. Our team would immediately call the neighboring guest to request that they "turn the volume" down.

Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
328 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This isnt the Ritz but its pretty dang comfy! Located very close to the Oakland Airport, with a shuttle to get you back and forth, this is a great place to stay before or after your flight. The rooms are pretty comfortable, and there is a good place to eat in the lobby (if you are there early enough). The downside is, if you arent there early enough there is no place safe to walk to late at night (this IS Oakland after all!)

If you need a good place to sleep though, you will get a good nights rest here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our nice, clean rooms while you were here! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was a nice place to stay for a layover. They have a little cafe in the lobby that was good and affordable. Everybody was very nice. Shuttle to airport worked great. Arrived late and left early, so can't say anything about the neighborhood it was in, but I felt safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyeLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay at our hotel.

Our Bistro open for dinner and breakfast makes for a convenient location to start your day with a Starbucks Latte or end your evening with dinner and a cocktail.

We look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in the Oakland area.

Best regards,
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed Nov 27,2012 Opened the couch/bed, so my son could sleep there. Sheets were stained. Gave the apprearance that someone had slept in and it was noticeably messy . Tired and had been traveling all day and then finding the suite wast cleaned properly was disappointing.
Over 200.00 per night you would expect a little bit better.
Not sure if I would want to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetski-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy F, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The housekeeping issue you described is not acceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. We immediately had a housekeeping team meeting reminding the housekeeping associates to check every pull out couch bed every time they clean a room, clean fresh linen should be stored in a bag in your closet for the pull out couch. It sounds as though the prior guest closed the couch leaving the linen and my team neglected to pull it out to make sure the mattress was bare. I'm very sorry that you experienced this situation during your stay with us.

I appreciate you bringing this to our attention.
Guy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Airport Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Hilton Oakland Airport
Hilton Oakland Airport
#10 of 48 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 stars 740 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Oakland International Airport
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Airport

Property: Courtyard Oakland Airport
Address: 350 Hegenberger Rd, Oakland, CA 94621
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax minutes from your flight at the newly renovated Courtyard Oakland Airport Hotel. The new state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests and features inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout the lobby and easy access to the latest news and weather conditions via our GoBoard™. The highlight of our new lobby experience is The Bistro – Eat. Drink. Connect.™, which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning including Starbucks® coffee and evening dinner service with cocktails. Our Oakland airport hotel provides free shuttle service to the airport and to the nearby BART train station, giving you access to Berkeley, San Francisco and beyond. Here to work? Business travelers will love the large, flexible workspace, well-lit desk, and free high-speed internet access in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Courtyard
Oakland Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing