We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a bad location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Redding, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a bad location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was fine; comfortable bed, friendly staff, clean room. The only downside to the property itself is that there was little to insulate the sound of the nearby freeway so I could hear trucks going by all night.

The location on the other hand was horrid. Its right in the middle of an industrial area near the airport so there people wearing gang colours and hookers all over the place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erickiltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    19
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
38
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno,Ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

First when I arrived in the vicinity of this hotel, I wasn't too impressed with its surroundings. Since I already had reservation, I had no choice but to check in. Friendly manager gave me a room, and I couldn't believe what I got for my money. Room was lot better than I thought. My room was clean, equipped with TV, Microwave, Iron and ironing board, comfortable bed. I had no problem at all in staying at this hotel for 5 nights.In future I will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sidnamshe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Upon arrival, the handles going into check in were sticky with dirt. The dirt was so thick that it was caked on. Clearly they had not been cleaned in a while. The location is close to the Coliseum, so when we booked through Hotelplanner.com we thought it would be ideal. When you book your room the way we did, you pay the booker directly. When we checked into our room, the carpet was very worn out and dirty. Our feet were black on the bottom within hours of check in. The room has very nice crown molding and base boards, however, they were filthy with dust. Across from our room sat a broken washing machine for 3 days that we were there. We would have checked out the day we arrived, however we had already paid Hotelplanner and did not have extra cash to switch hotels. We did check out a day early because it was so bad, and after complaining to the front desk, they said that we still had to pay for the last night because of the way we booked. No apology, no "let us make it right"...Nothing!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFrameFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

From the time I arrived until checkout the staff and management were both friendly and helpful. The hotel's location makes easy access to Oakland, alameda and downtown San Francisco. The rooms are clean and quiet with excellent facilities including refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and even iron and ironing board.

Would be more than happy to stay here next time I'm in the area. Thanks to all.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have no complaints about this budget hotel. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast, and close to shops and restaurants. The staff here are very helpful and the grounds are neat and tidy. Also, pet friendly :) My partner, mother and father in law and my son stayed here for 4 days and three nights - very comfortable beds and full cable and WIFI. Excellent value for money !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelinatheballerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for the Raider/Steeler game. We tried to checkin early ( 9-10 a.m.)having come from San Fran with bags in tow and wanting to get to the game to tailgate. There were no rooms available yet but the owners were very acomodating ( THANKS). The Hotel itself is well kept and the room was nicely decorated with a fridge and microwave. Lots of plug ins on each side of the bed to charge todays electrinic devices. They also offer a comp. breakfast ( simple but enough)
We took a cab from the bart station to the hotel. We did however walk to the Coliseum. It is a straight shot up Coliseum Way to it. The area is a little dirty with some bad smells but was lined with food vendors . It seemed safe enough in the day but we didn't walk it at night. We also walked to the bart station to catch the airbart to fly out. ( to the Coliseum up the ramp and across the walkway and down the stairs.)
The only negatives were our room was right by the only ice and soda machine ( a bit loud) and the really are no close food sources except the food vendors that were out ( got the papusas :)) but the husband is picky so when we went to order food of the non pizza type it was VERY expensive,
Having traveled abroad this was fine for us and we would stay again for a game but some people may have problems with the lacation.

Room Tip: unless you can deal with noise ask for a room away from the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oneloveforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

first off i booked the room 3 months ahead and it stated it included a fridge a flat screen and a microwave and smoke free. well all was true except the flat screen and when i asked they told me only the suites had it. when my itenerary stated it. i know they arent guarenteed but i didnt book a suite so why would it even mention it. they first gave me a smoking room and it was unbearable i had to ask for a switch. they were prompt in doing so but the next room i got had a real nasty smell. at this point i jus had to deal because we had to get ready for the game. they say they offer breakfast i left too early to try it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oakland hotels
0.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#14 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#28 of 49 in Oakland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
Address: 4801 Coliseum Way, Oakland, CA 94601-5009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing