We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Day on the USS Potomac to see America's Cup”
Review of USS Potomac

USS Potomac
Ranked #16 of 126 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
5,668 reviews
3,665 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,816 helpful votes
“Amazing Day on the USS Potomac to see America's Cup”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We went out on the USS Potomac summer of 2013 to see the America's Cup races. Docents were on board to show us the boat and take us on the tour. It was a very nice event with catered food and wine and other beverages. The America's Cup Race was thrilling to see from the USS Potomac.

The USS Potomac was the floating White House of American President Franklin Delano Roosevelt. Prior to going out on the boat we visited the vistor center and watched some interesting videos.

We parked in a nearby parking garage for the time we were on the boat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit for History Buffs”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

By exterior appearances, it doesn't appear worth the trip. However, don't let the looks deceive you. The Museum staff -- mostly retired military men -- give a great tour and can answer almost every question. It's always small groups with a tour guide and I had a one on one tour and really enjoyed it.

The ship has a lot of history --- from being FDR's presidential yacht to once being owned by Elvis Presley. I was disappointed that I couldn't get out one of the cruises. Book ahead for them if you can!

If you take the ferry to San Francisco, it's right by the Oakland ferry dock in Jack London Square so really convenient too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TSMTor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Oakland's Children's Hospital, Cruising for Kids!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Folks that volunteer their time and energy to keep telling the story that is USS POTOMAC are "Top Shelf"!
When so many groups from all walks of life can come together with one goal in mind; TODAY IS ALL ABOUT THE KIDS. It was one of the best experiences of a lifetime! So many people to mention/thank.... The Oakland Police Dept Boat's for escorting our FLEET of 10 Classic Yachts, dating back to the 1920's. The San Francisco Fire Dept, Fire boat "PHOENIX" with Her water cannons at full blast, the Children and Family's LOVED!! Again the TEAM from the USS POTOMAC ORG, all the CYA Boat owner's and Family members. All the people and organizations that donated supplys and the fund's to make this event happen. A Very special Thank You to this year's Classic Yacht Association's Commodore and Bride, Mr. and Mrs. John Di Lillo, they put in so many hours in the last 9 months for what turned out to be an epic event.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cpoboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

To be able to tour a Presidential Yacht is very cool. Do check the hours of operation before you go, as they are not always open. I think it is seasonal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ScottFrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Didn't even know this was in Oakland”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were staying at The Waterfront Hotel and right next door in the harbor was this historic yacht that President Franklin Roosevelt made famous. We did not go on, but it was a real delight just to see it moored there.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank chat89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to USS Potomac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing