We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A place to relax amid San Francisco and Oakland Sight Seeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount
Save
You added A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 9 Oakland B&B and Inns
New Orleans
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A place to relax amid San Francisco and Oakland Sight Seeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We just got home from a week at this B&B, visiting our son and sight seeing from Sacramento to San Francisco, Muir Woods and the wine country to downtown Oakland. Staying with Nancy and Jason was one of the highlights, starting each day with a delicious breakfast and coming back worn out to a comfy sit in front of the fireplace. There was a gas fireplace in our room, so we had total control of the temperature. This is a wonderful place to relax and thoroughly enjoy everything the area has to offer. We will definitely be coming back!

Room Tip: The queen room has windows looking out the front over the top of the other houses in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S4tyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

We wanted to stay at a hotel near our son in Oakland CA. The closet hotels were not very nice and the big name hotels were in Emeryville. We decided to try a B &B. We were pleasantly surprised. We stayed in a sweet little mansion a short walk from our son's home. The owners are very friendly and shared the main level and back garden of the house with their guests. Nancy makes a wonderful breakfast in their sunny kitchen overlooking the garden. We intend to stay there every time that we visit Oakland.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My 6 year old daughter and I stayed with Nancy and Jason for two nights and were delighted by everything from top to bottom. The room was lovely and comfortable as well as quiet. The garden was delightful and the chickens therein provided fresh eggs for a terrific French toast breakfast lovingly made by Nancy. We even had fresh fruit from the trees in the back yard. I intend to stay here again and again when I come to Oakland to visit my family.

Room Tip: All the rooms look terrific. We stayed in the peach room which is great for either a pair of kids o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szqchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We always stay at this wonderful B & B on Fairmount when we travel to the Bay Area. We especially love the Queen Room. The picture windows, lovely views, the fireplace, the bed and decor all make for an exceptional stay. The breakfasts are varied, wholesome and delicious. The garden is amazing: a perfect place to BE. The hosts are delightfully engaging and become fast friends! I recommend this B & B highly for you and your family.

Room Tip: Rooms with twins, double and Queen. All quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foormana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

This is a treasure! It's a quiet and welcoming place to return to after a day in San Francisco or a long hike in the hills. I appreciated the hosts' attentions, tailored to fit my needs, whether for a chat over a cup of coffee or a chance to enjoy their wonderful garden. The large house has been lovingly restored. My bedroom was furnished with an eye to pure comfort, so that I felt like a guest of the family. I will certainly return here the next chance I get..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambamSantaFe_NM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

My adult daughter and I had a wonderfully, relaxing stay at a B & B on Fairmount. We were in a perfect room with two twin beds and an amazing tub! The hospitality extended by Nancy and Jason was second to none. I had some work times during the visit and the living room with a warm, wood fire was a relaxing compliment to a somewhat rainy day. The lemon souffle pancakes and oatmeal breakfasts were amazing! I would recommend to anyone wishing to be in a remarkable location with outstanding hospitality.

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DRJANJAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
0.7 mi away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#9 of 49 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bayside Hotel
2.3 mi away
Waterfront Hotel, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#9 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount

Property: A Bed and Breakfast On Fairmount
Address: 600 block of Fairmount Avenue, Oakland, CA 94611
Location: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A B&B On Fairmount, a home-stay style B&B, has been operating in the friendly Piedmont Avenue neighborhood of Oakland since 1996. The Craftsman-era home has large and welcoming guest rooms and common spaces, countless sunny windows, and an over-sized organic garden with seasonal hens giving us fresh eggs. The congenial hosts enjoy sharing their home and Oakland's (and Berkeley's) terrific restaurants and attractions. Average rates are $125.40 To $182.40. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing