We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best environment for a basketball gmae” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oracle Arena

Oracle Arena
Ranked #7 of 115 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best environment for a basketball gmae”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have not been to a concert here, or any other event except for a basketball game here so that is all I can speak to. Bottom line is the atmosphere in this place is electric. Loyal fans that are always loud and never seem to stop. The venue has remained pretty much the same over the years, I guess its rumored Warriors new owners are building a new arena right on the waterfront. No matter what happens, this has been a great place to watch games over the years, the sound really carries in here and I swear this place shakes sometimes! Bottom line, if your a sports fan, this place is one of the best in the league to catch a game at.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    65
    33
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA, USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“As a concert venue, this leaves a lot to be desired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I'm reviewing the arena as a concert venue. I have been here for two shows - Pink's The Truth About Love tour in 2013 and a local radio station's Christmas Rock Show in 2011.

In both cases, I found the experience at Oakland Arena to be quite lacking. Here's why:

Sound quality: this venue is really designed for sports and, as such, does not seem to have great accoustics. Despite some world class acts passing through, my experience of the sound has been that it is not that loud and quite tinny.

Facilities: For concerts, they don't seem to open all of the concession stands. This creates enormous lines - think 20 minute waits - at the stands that are open before the show.

Parking: Parking is extremely expensive ($25-35) and if your show happens to coincide with a baseball game at the stadium next door, you can get caught in really bad traffic.

Public transit: The arena is right next to the Coliseum BART station, which is extremely convenient. But getting to the station can be a nightmare after a show. The overpass on which you have to walk is not wide enough and, to add to the congestion, hot dog sellers set up half way across further cramping things. Once at a U2 concert at the stadium, we ended up in a very uncomfortable large crowd situation just trying to get to the overpass and several people in the crowd got very nervous from the cramped conditions.

Upsides:
If I could find one upside, it is that the seats are actually quite comfy for this kind of stadium - even though I have long legs, I've found I can sit relatively comfortably.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank penfoldSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced parking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Depending upon the event at the arena parking can be $30 or more. Once inside the main level walkway can be crowded as the space was made more narrow when they remodeled the building several years ago.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KenMcL149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
303 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Exciting Energy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Get there early to get food because you do do not want to leave your seat during a Warrior game. We sat in the third deck but had great views of the entire court and loved it. The fans have passion and energy for sure. Even during the breaks, there is entertainment from the Flying Dubs to kids dancing. There is a wide choice in food and even gluten free beer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The ROARCLE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Watched a Warriors game here in early March, and as a basketball fan this has to have the best atmosphere of all basketball arenas. They make it feel like a college game, all the energy is amazing. DO not bring your kids as it will be too loud for them to cope. But if you are a basketball fan you have to see a Warriors Game.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CSFRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oracle Arena also viewed

 

Been to Oracle Arena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing