We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“FAB” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mua

Mua
Ranked #6 of 1,234 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“FAB”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great atmosphere....reccommend cocktaIls........waiter gave great advice
We had 2 starters each for the table as a kind of tapas to share.
Prawns, craabcakes, salad, macaroni cheese (no Cheese!!) were all excellent.
Reasonably priced. Go see....
Quiky setting. In an old Car Showroom (Garage).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nigel1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    83
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, CA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Like Button”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Large space and great vibe. My friend and I love to go to Mua right after work. The bartender (can't remember his name) rocks! He's super friendly and always recommends excellent appetizers! I've also gone for dinner and the food is consistent and the wait staff is attentive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shonda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cool spot, happy hour, great food, creative cocktails, what more could you ask for?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Went to Mua for the first time the other night with some friends, it was great, we got some drinks at the bar on happy hour (6 down from 10), then were promptly seated. Great service, not intrusive, but always there when you need them. It has a cool decor and vibe to it, not stuck up or "suit-y", yet still is a nice place worthy of a date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sireatsalot612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
218 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top quality food & drink - in a cool environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had an excellent dinner for 8 - including beverages, small plates, large plates and desert. Everything was great. Superb selection of beers, and very good selection of wines by the glass and bottle.

We enjoyed the small plates:
Garlic shrimp, fried tofu, mac& cheese, grilled romaine, beet salad. We'll have to go back to try he rest of the selection.

For the larger plates, the CPQ burger (think falafel burger with extra zing), hamburger, duck confit, shrimp po'boy were very good.

The bread pudding, afogato and flourless chocolate cake deserts were so scrumptious.

It is a lively environment, and you should call for reservations.

Definitely worth a trip into Oakland to dine on the amazing fare and take in the scene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Double64Double
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Loud Vibe, Awesome Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Mua is an excellent restaurant with a great, loud vibe and awesome food. I went there with a group of 10 on a Saturday night. We had a recommendation which I highly recommend - this place is packed and happening!
The drink menu is amazing - they have a lot of quality wine/beer/mixed drinks. They have a strong poor. The Joe Smash is tasty. The All Nighter is perfectly balanced.
The food menu is small and large plates which lend itself to family style. Everything was so tasty. We had the Not Mac and Cheese (so tasty), Fried Chicken (awesome, but not many pieces to make sharing hard), Rib Eye cooked brilliantly (huge portion easy to cut up and share), Cesaer and Beet Salads wonderful, Calamari was tender and breaded perfectly.
The service is great. Our waiter was busy a couple of times, but we were able to get the attention of other staff.
They have an upstairs, which had some couches and loungey area. The DJ spun it up with a live cello (bass?) player.
This is a loud, busy place - it's hard to talk if you have a large group. But, its great to get the energy going for a Saturday night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dustyelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mua also viewed

 

Been to Mua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing