We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality food & drink - in a cool environment”
Review of Mua

Mua
Ranked #6 of 1,281 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Broadway
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Top quality food & drink - in a cool environment”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had an excellent dinner for 8 - including beverages, small plates, large plates and desert. Everything was great. Superb selection of beers, and very good selection of wines by the glass and bottle.

We enjoyed the small plates:
Garlic shrimp, fried tofu, mac& cheese, grilled romaine, beet salad. We'll have to go back to try he rest of the selection.

For the larger plates, the CPQ burger (think falafel burger with extra zing), hamburger, duck confit, shrimp po'boy were very good.

The bread pudding, afogato and flourless chocolate cake deserts were so scrumptious.

It is a lively environment, and you should call for reservations.

Definitely worth a trip into Oakland to dine on the amazing fare and take in the scene.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Double64Double
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    107
    20
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food, Loud Vibe, Awesome Drinks”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Mua is an excellent restaurant with a great, loud vibe and awesome food. I went there with a group of 10 on a Saturday night. We had a recommendation which I highly recommend - this place is packed and happening!
The drink menu is amazing - they have a lot of quality wine/beer/mixed drinks. They have a strong poor. The Joe Smash is tasty. The All Nighter is perfectly balanced.
The food menu is small and large plates which lend itself to family style. Everything was so tasty. We had the Not Mac and Cheese (so tasty), Fried Chicken (awesome, but not many pieces to make sharing hard), Rib Eye cooked brilliantly (huge portion easy to cut up and share), Cesaer and Beet Salads wonderful, Calamari was tender and breaded perfectly.
The service is great. Our waiter was busy a couple of times, but we were able to get the attention of other staff.
They have an upstairs, which had some couches and loungey area. The DJ spun it up with a live cello (bass?) player.
This is a loud, busy place - it's hard to talk if you have a large group. But, its great to get the energy going for a Saturday night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dustyelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I just feel cool being there!”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

The fake mac and cheese is better than you could posssibly think! This place is both delicious, spaceous and just freakin cool. Go enjoy embrassing your inner hipster over a delicious cocktail here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and upbeat!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent food and music! Live DJ and a lively environment that you can still enjoy a great conversation in. Great drinks too. The lamb tagine was excellent! There was only two of use but we order a few small plates and a couple larger plates (calamari, brussel sprouts, garlic shrimp etc). What a surprising place located on the auto row! Great for after work fun and weekend hangout. If you like quiet this isn't for you but it's a very funky and fun place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aliyyah86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Cool, hip eatery with many offerings”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had dinner here with friends from the East Bay to celebrate a birthday. We shared the entire meal which was mostly small plates and one entree-sized serving. We were able to have a variety of dishes, all creatively prepared: artichoke hearts, bone marrow, mac and cheese w/o cheese, watermelon salad, garlic prawns, collard greens with bacon, fried chicken with coleslaw and cornbread, bread pudding and pineapple upside down cake. Really delicious meal, and everyone was happy and full by the end. Good place to go if you want to try different foods but don't want to commit to having it as your entree! Funky atmosphere - very eclectic! Good service, fun drink menu as well. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelgalCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mua also viewed

 

Been to Mua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing