We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Believe the hype” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellanico

Bellanico
Reserve with OpenTable
Bellanico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,234 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wellington
Transit: AC Transit #18
Oakland, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

When a place gets as much attention as Bellanico, it is easy to be skeptical about its prospects. For me, it takes a lot for a place to be worth laying down as much for one meal as I would spend on 3-4 meals as my favorite Lao place near Lake Merritt. But the quality of the food, the service, and the atmosphere really make this a dining experience to remember. Every once in a while I think you deserve a treat, and this place is exactly that.

If you have deeper pockets than I do, then go ahead and make a visit here a weekly or monthly affair.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheyney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    29
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, SO CA USA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Best in the East Bay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

A wonderful authentic neighborhood ristorante! We knew this was going to be a great dinner when we walked in and felt the "vibe", the excitement of the customers having a great experience. It's hard to describe this, bug you somehow pick up on this "vibe". Pasta so good I favored every morsel of it. Wine flights taught me about so many lesser-known Italian wines. After 12 trips to Italia, we appreciate this place! The owner is there overseeing, even cleaning tables, watching the flow to ensure a quality operation. In 4 years of trips to UC Berkeley, we found our favorite East Bay restaurant. Too bad it was on our last trip, as our son graduated that day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“In search of the elusive Malfatti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

and we weren't disappointed!! Malfatti (gnudi) by some accounts is a Bay Area creation but its barely on the menu today Bellanico's malfatti was had wonderfully light touch with plenty of chard and an almost fluffy texture, perfectly matched by the sage brown butter. Burrata starter with nettle and cipollini jam was creatively done with everything working together. Wine list has some great choices by the glass. Panna cotta dessert was delicious.

This is a neighborhood restaurant - the Glenview district has difficult parking and is not on any convenient public transit - but its well worth the visit - just plan on a little extra commute time.

And I have to compliment our friendly server, Nick, for a nice evening.

We'll be back to try the rest of the menu and the wine flights.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank newbie_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A favorite place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We’ve been to Bellanico a half dozen times and each visit has been excellent. We really enjoy the variety of dishes, which are great for sharing, and the wine flights to sample Italian wine. The fried meatballs and bay scallops were especially good at our most recent dinner. As the tables are close together, you can check out what others are eating to help with your own order.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem with Wonderful Staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a wonderful, intimate restaurant in a lovely semi residential area in Oakland. The "Glenview" area is a bit of a gourmet ghetto with no less than seven restaurants in a two block area. But this is my favorite largely because of the terrific food and wine menu, but also for the great, friendly staff. The sunchoke fritters and farro salad are my favorites as well as the house made beet ravioli (awesome believe me!). Great for take out and for sitting at the bar as a couple or single. This place can get busy so make a reservation just to be safe. Parking is an issue but there are parking valets you can use in the area. You will love the attentive staff - they always make me feel welcome!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lwolff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellanico also viewed

 

Been to Bellanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing