We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Every bite was divine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellanico

Bellanico
Reserve with OpenTable
Bellanico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 1,226 Restaurants in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wellington
Transit: AC Transit #18
Orinda CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Every bite was divine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Each course in the $30 tasting menu was absolutely delicious. I had to try the fava beans, as they are so briefly in season. They did not disappoint. I was particularly taken with the sformato, a dish I had never tried before. I highly recommend it. The hanger steak was cooked to perfection and the accompanying foods added to the pleasure of the dish. The tiny chocolate, date, and walnut dessert was a satisfying finish to a sensational dining experience.
I enjoyed the "Le Marche" flight of red wines. The first offering, a Lacrima Nera, actually tasted of roses. The other two wines in that flight were Sangiovese blends. Although very nice they did not compare to the delight I found in the "black tears" (lacrima nera).
The restaurant is noisy, but I will go there every chance I have. What a find. Bravo Bellanico!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellin1_NorCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    28
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice local neighborhood dining!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

A nice small restaurant with a good menu and very inviting prix fixe courses and wine flight options! Also very kid friendly as can be attested to by my 5 year old granddaughter who always orders her favorite past dish!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGoodTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Creative neighborhood gem in Glenview section of Oakland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very creative and well-prepared Italian cuisine in a friendly neighborhood setting. Both appetizers we tried were unusual and outstanding - FRIED MONDEGHILI (pork,beef,& bacon meatballs), and butternut squash fritters! The SEARED BERKSHIRE PORK BELLY, ROASTED RED BEET MOSTARDA, CHICORIES, LEMON-ANCHOVY DRESSING was also unusual and delicious, as was the ARTICHOKE AND ERBETTE CHARD RISOTTO. The hanger steak was not remarkable, but stick to the Italian specialties and you can't go wrong!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay area
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant restaurant with good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

I had received a number of recommendations for Bellanico so went with friends on Sunday evening. Parking was a little tricky but doable. The restaurant had a pleasant European/Californian ambiance. We shared some antipasti and then had a selection of primi. The malefatti had been highly recommended but although pleasant lacked salt. The terrine we had also lacked salt. I sampled the other pasta dishes and they were all good but not perhaps brilliant. Bellanico is worth another visit--maybe Sunday was the regular chef's night off.....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fauxlapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
255 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“GREAT NEIGHBORHOOD GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I love the atmoshphere in this restaurant... great wine bar and consisitanly
awesome food...
I could hang out all night... Don't forget to try the swisschard
malfatti in brown butter sage ! OMG delicious. easy access off the 13 freeway just off Park ave. Great for a weekday dinner out!
sandie

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sansa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellanico also viewed

 
Oakland, CA
 

Been to Bellanico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing