We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice place for a half day of fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakland Zoo

Oakland Zoo
Ranked #4 of 115 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 100-acre zoo that contains 58 exhibits of more than 400 native and exotic animals from around the world, which are represented by 100 different species.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a half day of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Smaller than STL and Chicago zoos which is wjat I am used to, but staff is friendliest I have seen and so helpful.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoccerOnGSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    189
    48
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant View
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Nice Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice zoo. Easy walk for small children. Cool day so animals were out. Had to pay extra for kiddie rides but take the train ride.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChristineB875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best zoo in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I loved it all, very friendly staff, give you lots of information, take their time to talk to you, and tell you all you want to know about the zoo and its residents, good food, and a picnic area if you bring your own. i will go here again and again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rae2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very inviting atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love to go to zoos. We are an mature *(o k, actually an older couple in our 60's). We go to Zoo without any children, and enjoy our visits.

Love the Oakland Zoo because of the location, the layout of the open spaces and the great variety of animals there.

The staff is really nice. There is good food varieties available and you can just enjoy the day taking your time thru the park.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kayeandsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is great to be a member, you can go visit for just a couple of hours. Explore a different area each time. Never tire the little ones too much.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leealyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing