We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reawakening!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oakland Zoo

Oakland Zoo
Ranked #4 of 119 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 100-acre zoo that contains 58 exhibits of more than 400 native and exotic animals from around the world, which are represented by 100 different species.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Reawakening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I first came to the zoo as an infant - then as a young adult and when I became and adult I brought my favorite "little people" - wow - it has evolved and I'm so proud that my hometown of Oakland has so much to offer as such a rich experience for youngsters and their elders alike.

Helpful?
Thank Marylikestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    233
    198
    49
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Family friendly Zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

The zoo is located in the Oakland hills and is really spacious. The animal enclosures are spacious and the animals are obviously well-cared for. I have bought family memberships because you recoup the cost very quickly. I have also sent my grandkids to the Summer camp and they had a blast.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank cautiousadventurer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Need to upgrade and Clean”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The animals all look dead, and the animals they do have look like I can see them anywhere on the streets. not in a zoo. I would recommend going to San Fran to see wild zoo animals. I live in Oakland but its worth the trip to cross the bay

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oaklandfinest l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goleta
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Don't skip the aerial Tram”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The views of San Francisco, the Golden Gate and the Bay were a surprise. Don't miss them. This zoo also has hyena which are not commonly kept at many zoos. The River otters are super active so lan extra time just to watch them play. Wear you walking shoes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DMcClureDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I'm so impressed with what they have accomplished with tight budgets and so many demands. The animals are in beautiful locations and the crowds are minimal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rawhide2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oakland Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Oakland Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing