We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We took our daughter there in the 70's and now our grandkids. It's a Bay Area tradition.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Fairyland

Children's Fairyland
Ranked #10 of 113 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
Benicia, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We took our daughter there in the 70's and now our grandkids. It's a Bay Area tradition.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great for kids 2-8.....puppet shows, fun rides and a special place for the little ones.
My granddaughter followed one of the princesses around.....the rides are fun and safe and the grounds magical.
THe new theatre is fabulous.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    72
    11
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fairyland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It did not feel special. It is a bad neighborhood and really did not have a nice welcoming affect to it. I don't think I would go there again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good intentions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Well... Although the idea is brilliant, I found this place a bit spooky. It is VERY old-fashioned. In spite of this, our 3-year-old loved it, although he was looking for more rides after trying out all four. Unfortunately he was too young to recognise the characters from the fairy tales (eg. Snow White or Alice etc), so most of the installations did not mean anything to him, he was even scared in the Fairy Cave... We visited Fairyland on a sunny Saturday, but fortunately it was not too crowded, which is great.
The ticket is valid for the whole day, re-entry is possible - however the place closes at 4, which seems a bit early to me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank hiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good half day trip for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I recently brought our almost 3 year old and my in-laws to enjoy a morning at Fairyland. Although from the bay area, my husband had never heard of fairyland. It has been around almost 50 years and although some of the presentations are a bit dated, our daughter loved it. We saw most of the park and my daughter went on all (carousel, trolley, ferris wheel) but one ride in a mere 2 hours. This is definitely better for the younger kids, although we noticed a few class field trips there. It would be a great location for a good picnic. After our visit, we also visited the gardens, just down the rode, which were beautiful.

Extra tip - AAA members get a $1 discount per ticket in their party (regularly $8 per person)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LA_tao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area, ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bring the kids.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I took our almost-3 year old and met up with het cousin's family. We had a google deal and apparently there are occasional livingsocial deals, too. Without the discounts, it is $8/person for ages 1-100. They sell a "magic key" at the entrance for $2, giving kids access to stories told through boxes at many of the attractions.

There are numerous play areas in the park. Our son particularly liked the dragon slide, a tall, undulating slide. The jolly trolley is a nice little train. There are a couple of carosels- for the back one, kids need to be 38 inches (we think their ruler is little short, as the cousin's daughter is about 34 inches and missed the height limit by about an inch). There is also a ferris wheel for kids only, but we missed that, as the kids were otherwise occupied. The puppet show was cute, but the kids were too young. All the attractions in the park are included in the price. Wear running shoes, as you will be chasing your little ones.

The food was reasonably priced for an amusement park, but had small portions. It also took a while for them to make it.

We will undoubtedly return.

Helpful?
1 Thank drstats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing