We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Disneyland, really”

Children's Fairyland
Ranked #9 of 124 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Oakland, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Better than Disneyland, really”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is wildly low tech! This is the inspiration for Disneyland; it lets kids explore without lines. there is a Pirate ship that lets the kids run around with their own imaginations; a puppet show ....wierd little gnomes just around .... you must have a child to enter. Pay the extra $2 for the key which for reasons known only to children is the best of the best.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    81
    16
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oldie but . . .”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Look, the place is OLD. But my kids (6, 4 & 3) loved it and are already asking when they can go back. It's not a huge park, either, so you can do it in half a day. And the admission price is low. So as long as the kids enjoy it . . . I mean, I wouldn't make some big drive for it (we live about 40 minutes away), it's not worth that, but for the price, it's not bad. Limited food options, though, so I wouldn't recommend planning to eat there.

Also note there are a number of rides that kids can go on but adults CANNOT. So be sure your kids are able and willing to ride alone in some cases.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mplanglinais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“old and dingy”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I remember coming here when I was a kid...and little has changed. It needs new paint, and they need to clean up some of the clutter. It has potential, but it does not live up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“over rated”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I go here at least 3 times a year, not that I want to but because my daurghter elem school seems to not no where else to go in oakland

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank oaklandfinest l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its Darling”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its darling. My kids are 2 and 5 and love it. Much older then 5 would not be so into it. For the price we paid it entertained my kids in Oakland for a couple hours. Its not an all day thing but awesome for a bit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykay559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing