We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Oldie but . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Fairyland

Children's Fairyland
699 Bellevue Avenue, Oakland, CA 94610
(510) 452-2259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 113 things to do in Oakland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Children's books come to life at this ten-acre outdoor park that displays 30 colorful sets depicting make-believe lands of Alice in Wonderland, Captain Hook and others.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Oldie but . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Look, the place is OLD. But my kids (6, 4 & 3) loved it and are already asking when they can go back. It's not a huge park, either, so you can do it in half a day. And the admission price is low. So as long as the kids enjoy it . . . I mean, I wouldn't make some big drive for it (we live about 40 minutes away), it's not worth that, but for the price, it's not bad. Limited food options, though, so I wouldn't recommend planning to eat there.

Also note there are a number of rides that kids can go on but adults CANNOT. So be sure your kids are able and willing to ride alone in some cases.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mplanglinais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    72
    11
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old and dingy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I remember coming here when I was a kid...and little has changed. It needs new paint, and they need to clean up some of the clutter. It has potential, but it does not live up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I go here at least 3 times a year, not that I want to but because my daurghter elem school seems to not no where else to go in oakland

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank oaklandfinest l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Its Darling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Its darling. My kids are 2 and 5 and love it. Much older then 5 would not be so into it. For the price we paid it entertained my kids in Oakland for a couple hours. Its not an all day thing but awesome for a bit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jaykay559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
281 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Clean affordable fun for little ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great for young familes (7 or under). Good for 3-4 hours at most, not too crowded, parking not too difficult if you arrive before 11am and overall a good experience. Think of it as a small theme park for little kids and only little kids. Ok to bring your own food and plenty of seating areas. You can also buy these little plastic keys to turn these story boxes. Good treat for the kids.

The place is not very big but that's good with small kids.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Fairyland also viewed

 

Been to Children's Fairyland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing